We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice near Digby”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Looking for an interesting spot to spend the night before our early morning ferry from Digby to St. John. Found it at the Harbouview in Smiths Cove. The rooms were complete, spacious and comfortable. Our host has the touch. Every common room in the entire Inn is perfectly appointed thanks to the pitch perfect taste of owner Darren. He was particularly responsive during the reservation planning portion of our stay and then again when we arrived -- booking our Ferry and packing a take-away breakfast as we were leaving before 7:00 AM.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnthetraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

It was a pleasure to spend the night at the Harbourview Inn. From the moment you enter the front door you are greeted with a smile and a happy word. The inn is beautifully decorated in cozy Victorian style. The breakfast was included and enough for a great start of the day. The gardens are full of birds and flowers. Ask for room #1 with a view of the water and very comfortable bed. It was the best sleep we had on the whole trip. We would definitely stop there again....especially to say hello to Rosie.

Room Tip: room #1 my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

About a 10 minute drive from Digby, the Harbourview is a very comfortable and quaint inn. A very old property the inn has very large and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is included in the price and is served in a light and airy room. There is no evening dining and you need to travel to Digby or Bear River to find somewhere to eat at night. The Harbourview does serve drinks in an evening though so you can eat out and then go back to the inn for a drink.

The whole atmosphere is very relaxing and the owners Darren and Vance are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just returned home from four weeks vacation in the Maritimes. The highlight of our trip was finding this beaujtiful old inn called Harbourview in Smiths Cove on the outskirts of Digby. Established in 1899 the inn is full of old world charm, the antique decor, along with the comfort and convenience, is a real tonic and makes you feel at home. The perfect hosts Darren and Vance have one goal in mind, and that is your comfort and relaxation. Each day starts with breakfast and laughter served by Irene with her own humorous personality that adds to the charm of the whole experience. You are within easy reach of many interesting places, whale watching and walking trails are nearby..Harbourview Inn is located in the middle of glorious English type gardens, and our room was large with a beautiful water view, and a large purple rhododendron in full bloom just outside the huge window. Thankyou Darren and Vance and of course the resident canine friend ' Rosie ' for everything, we will be back.

Room Tip: King room Number 1 is very spacious with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJSandIRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My trip advisor research paid off, Harbourview Inn was the perfect stop in the Digby area. Beautiful facility surrounded by colorful gardens at the edge of the fundy shore. Darren was a very helpful host and Irene was a hilarious hostess. Made for great Nova Scotia memories.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

True hospitality is a rare find nowadays. More than just treating travelers well, real hospitality asks that you make your guests feel as comfortable as if they were at home. Darren and Vance at the HarbourView Inn do just that.

We arrived quite late on our first night and were greeted by Darren who was kind enough to let us heat our baby's bottle in the Inn's kitchen. Breakfast, complete with fresh fruit, was courtesy of Vance while Darren entertained us with his anecdotes and more than a few local legends. We also got to meet Rosie, the resident dachshund-mix who was our little girl's favorite!

Our rooms were cozy and tastefully decorated; their old-world charm complemented by modern amenities like an LCD TV and coffee maker.

The inn itself is full of character, and about as far from your generic hotel/motel as one can get. A lot of the furniture was hand-picked by Vance and Darren to resemble pieces that would likely have been present during the inn's early years. The grounds are beautiful and the entire place is a stone's throw away from the seashore. Night sky watchers will appreciate the fact that the property is situated just far enough off the main road to avoid excessive light pollution.

If you're looking for a cozy, relaxed place to spend your time in Smith's Cove and want to try something more charming than your run of the mill motels, I highly recommend the Harbourview Inn.

P.S. Don't forget to ask Darren about his homemade preserves!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US_Ush_Shweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Darren and Vance were very welcoming at their inn. Extremely helpful in terms of advising us to eat en route to them as, being the early season, restaurants were closing early. As a consequence discovered the restaurants of Annapolis Royal (Eg Cafe Compose and Garrison House) much better than their Digby equivalents.

The room was very comfortable with plenty of space to relax in. WiFi was also very useful.

By comparison with other B & Bs that we have stayed at in Canada the breakfasts lacked a little variety and interest if staying more than one night. That said the home made jams were excellent.

The location is very good with access for local walks and to the shore line. The trip down Digby Neck was well worth it for wildlife watching and the views. We were a little early to benefit from the whale watching trips.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
3.5 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
2.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
46 reviews
3 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harmony Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range: $127 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourview Inn, an historic Nova Scotia bed and breakfast nestled among the beautiful oaks, white birch, and elms of Smith's Cove is truly a quiet refuge. Rated with four stars by Canada Select, Harbourview is located near Digby, Nova Scotia on Canada's east coast in one of the most historic and scenic areas of Nova Scotia. Guests love the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms, complimentary breakfasts, and free wireless internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing