We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and friendly”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived around 9pm and the inn keeper was very welcoming and showed us to our room which was in an annex to the Inn. Room was very clean but nothing special décor-wise really. Very homey/country. Beds were okay. Breakfast was fine (scrambled eggs, bacon one morning and poached eggs, sausage the next, and just enough. Waitress was a little overly boisterous the sunday morning but that was probably just me. Lovely common rooms in the inn with lots to look at and a well-stocked bar.

Room Tip: I didn't mind being in the annex at all, although we could clearly hear the people below us movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    45
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
181
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place to stay after you take the ferry from St. John to Digby and before you head across Nova Scotia. The owners were wonderful, lending us their own bikes to ride. And who knew that Digby was the scallop capital of the WORLD? Loved sitting on the porch sipping tea and reading.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this because they offered a whale watching package, and we're very glad we did. We stayed in a suite which, despite being close to a road, was quiet and its deck was full of sunshine. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom was lovely. The breakfasts were good and the staff very friendly. I had tried to book 3 nights but they were busy at the weekend. This was disappointing when I booked it, but more so when we were actually there and we were sorry to leave. The whale watching was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a wonderful old inn located on in a park-like setting just outside of Digby. We only stayed two nights, but this seems like a place one could go for a much longer relaxing get away. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding and staff are there to serve coffee or whatever you forgot from the buffet The innkeeper was terrific. He made several phone calls and arranged for us to get on a whale watching tour the next day. He also packed a continental breakfast for us to eat on the ferry on our last day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely setting, gracious charming home with multiple great seating areas to relax, comfy well kept rooms, friendly and caring staff, tasty full breakfast. Nicely situated close to beautiful trails and local attractions. Would stay here again anytime.
Denise B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A very nice B&B. Lovely rooms, friendly staff. A very nice breakfast included. They have a great selection of room types to choose from. The breakfast (included) is very nice - continental with two hot dishes. Very friendly staff, lovely setting. They offer a small bar service, lovely veranda and sitting area(s) to enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of tea. We would stay again and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: They have a great web site that allows you to look at the rooms, suites, etc. along with prices. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the inn - the beds were comfortable and the rooms spotless. The gardens were beautiful. The Inn is an older house with all the charm of a well cared for home. We were greeted each morning with a smile and pleasant conversation. A delicious breakfast consisted of a hot dish, fruit, an assortment of breads/muffins, homemade jams, cereals, yogurt, coffee and juices. Darren was always helpful providing recommendations making reservations and providing directions. The morning of our departure we left at 6:30 am, we were given a nice bag breakfast (muffin, yogurt, apple, granola bar, juice). We enjoyed our stay and hope we have the opportunity to visit this inn again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.5 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
116 reviews
12.4 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourview Inn, an historic Nova Scotia bed and breakfast nestled among the beautiful oaks, white birch, and elms of Smith's Cove is truly a quiet refuge. Rated with four stars by Canada Select, Harbourview is located near Digby, Nova Scotia on Canada's east coast in one of the most historic and scenic areas of Nova Scotia. Guests love the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms, complimentary breakfasts, and free wireless internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing