We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I only stayed at the The Harbourview Inn for 2 nights in June. It is in a delightful location, close to DIgby , and perfect for visiting other places in this part of Nova Scotia. A lot of the rooms are upstairs in the older part of the inn, and there is no lift, but there are nice ground floor rooms also.

Its very welcoming, nicely decorated and comfy rooms with little touches, coffee machines, lots of storage, newspapers etc. , but it homely and friendly.

The staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble, and the breakfasts were excellent. I eat watching all the birds coming to the feeders. Home made jellies and jams.

They dont have evening meals, but are licenced, so you can get a nightcap, and there are lots of restaurants in nearby Digby.

They also have a special member of staff , called Rosie, a small dacksie cross who greets everyone in a most delightful way, but never gets up before 10.30 am, so you can have a doggie free breakfast if you really need one.

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had only a few days to vacation and spent two nights at the Harbourview Inn. What a lovely and comfortable place to stay Darren and Vance are very accomodating hosts. Our room was very large with a water view and a view of the beautiful grounds. Poppies, lilacs, day lilies and several other flowers surround the well-kept inn. Our bed was comfortable and the tranquility was just what we needed. The hot breakfast was served to us on an inviting glass porch overlooking those beautiful grounds complete with bird -feeders inviting lots of birds. We were very well pleased with not only the accomodations, the hospitality and the atmosphere, but the rate was terrific. The location is just a short drive away from the ferry. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Darren and Vance.

Gary and Ann
Mississippi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed in this fantastic Inn with a family of four (two adult sons) after spending about three weeks in Nova Scotia. We experienced a relaxing time in very nice traditional rooms and a very friendly atmosphere of hospitality by our hosts Darren and Vance. They gave us excellent recommendations concerning restaurants and hiking activitities. Everything was organized in perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked 2 nights at the Harbourview Inn and stayed an extra night as we just couldn't leave. The inn is beautiful spotless and so relaxing. The room was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous view. What really made it for us were the hosts. Darren and Vance couldn't have done more for us. It was early in the season and most places were only just opening up but with a couple of phone calls Darren and Vance made sure we had the best holiday possible. We were lucky enough to see the first humpbacks of the year and the region is so beautiful we enjoyed every minute of our holiday. Thanks guys for an awesome stay. We have already recommended the Harbourview to all our friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A great Inn. We had a wonderful time here. The Inn Keeper is fab as is the spot. Breakfast was wonderful, dining room staff charming and fun, food excellent. Inn is great, clean and amazing location.

Room Tip: Only possible complaint is that the beds are very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here with a family of 7. The Harbourview Inn is a kind of mix between B&B and Hotel. The rooms were comfortable and the service good and friendly. Breakfast was average: good but nothing special.
Just a 100 mtr away is a nice pool that can be used.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japiotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We came for our first visit to Nova Scotia for a much delayed homeymoon and had marvelous hospitlity, including many wags of the tail from Rosie. We had a wonderful visit that was transformed to amazing thanks tp the hospitality of Vance and Darren. The decor is superb, food wonderful with special detail as I am a vegetarian. The rooms are clean with many details that incurred memories of my grandparents farm. My husband and I walked to church, and to the water to see the amazing tides. My only hope is that we may visit again. Do not forget to get their homemade jams to keep the memories fresh. Bravo to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.5 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
12.4 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
386 reviews
3 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Harmony Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range: $130 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourview Inn, an historic Nova Scotia bed and breakfast nestled among the beautiful oaks, white birch, and elms of Smith's Cove is truly a quiet refuge. Rated with four stars by Canada Select, Harbourview is located near Digby, Nova Scotia on Canada's east coast in one of the most historic and scenic areas of Nova Scotia. Guests love the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms, complimentary breakfasts, and free wireless internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing