We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO YUMMY~”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boardwalk Cafe - CLOSED

Boardwalk Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving the freshest Seafood in a casual Dining Room with a fine View.
Bear River N.S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SO YUMMY~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I LOVE the maple curry chicken...and the homemade roll it comes with! The desserts are to die for AND the poppyseed salad dressing is PERFECT!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Haddock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a great meal here. Fresh fish with a Euro flair. Nothing fancy, but well done and FRESH. They reminded us they did not fry the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank StevenAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great view, great food. Everythin is homemade - make sure you save room for dessert! Spacious, clean and right on the boardwalk for a stroll after your meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Homemade with flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have never experienced a bad meal here! The food is cooked like your mom's homemade Sunday dinner. Pick off the menu on the wall that changes daily with the incoming fresh seafood catch or market purchase. Traditional fare like handmade fish cakes or Acadian rapure pie are amazing. You can't go wrong and the view is fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We Lined Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband does not do lines ups, especially for food! But I persevered, based on the number of people being called by name by the servers I just knew this was where the locals ate. It was worth every minute. We came for scallops and got 1/2 lb each....perfect. We didn't wait long even though the place was full. Staff all working really hard but not flapped. Apparently the fish cakes are even better than the scallops if you listen to the locals, but we can get fishcakes at home! We both had pie and it was great too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing