We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!!”
Review of Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe - CLOSED

Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe
Price range: $4 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: OPEN JUNE 1st, 2015. NOT OPEN FOR LUNCH. Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe offers made to order breakfast, including a seared Digby scallop omelette and poached eggs with smoked salmon, open Tue-Sun., Closed Monday. Dinner service is Tue-Sun. We offer a four course fixed price menu serving local produce and fresh seafood. We strive to keep everything local. You have your choice of starter, salad, main course,home-made dessert selection, tea or coffee. Please bring your own wine, as we are not licensed. Please call in advance to reserve table. We are unable to accept email reservations.
Halifax
Level Contributor
923 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“What a Find!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We expected it to be good due to the reviews but it was even better than expected.
All the courses were so wonderful and expertly prepared. The atmosphere was so enjoyable and friendly. Wish we had a place like this in our home town. If in Digby make sure you come here!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local hospitality at its best”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a deal and great food too! This tiny, charming restaurant is owner operated and you will be sure to meet them during your visit. Our four course meal for a very reasonable price was delicious! It started with seafood spread and fresh baked bread, I then had mussels, lobster ceviche, pork tenderloin main course followed by a delicious sorbet and home-made bread pudding for dessert. A filling and delicious meal made on site with fresh ingredients and great seasoning. No wonder they are #1 among Digby restaurants!
Note: with only 20 seats and very low prices, make sure you show up if you reserve a spot so they can continue to make some money delivering wonderful dining experiences for visitors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mag Pyes is a Digby MUST!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I read about Mag Pyes in lonely planet.

We have travelled throughout Nova Scotia and in every city, we always had amazing food. In Digby, we had not had that same experience until Mag Pyes!

Not only was the welcoming very warm,(the staff was polite, friendly, personable and very knowledgable about the food they offered), the food was absolutely exquisite; everything from the entree to the dessert!! The food was flavorful, rich in taste but not heavy on the stomach and everything was clearly made in house (pesto included).

Hands down a Digby must!!!! The best food I've had in NS!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

When I called Mag Pyes to make a reservation, I had to leave a message. I wondered if I would receive a call back. The very next morning around 9:00 my phone rang and it was Tony from the restaurant. I explained we were heading to Digby for a special 25th birthday celebration for my son's girlfriend. We discussed the menu, which sounded absolutely delectable, and made the reservation.
Upon arrival, I knew this was going to be good as we were warmly welcomed by Tony. The dining room although small was full by the time we arrived at 7:30. This did not hamper the service one bit. Both Tony and Giselle (the other half of the Wait Staff) were efficient and super friendly. We felt like family.
The meal was tremendous -- each course exquisitely prepared and the flavors were outstanding. Each course just kept getting better and better. The scallops in particular were my favorite. Mag (the chef and Tony's wife) even came out to make sure everything was to our liking!
As an added surprise, when Tony brought out the dessert selections, he had put a candle (the number 25) in Sarah's dessert and sang Happy Birthday to her. Tony made her feel very special, and I was impressed that he would go out of his way to secure the candles.
The atmosphere, service and food made this a memorable evening. We would definitely recommend Mag Pyes ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanBlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really? In Digby Nova Scotia?”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Mag Pies on recommend of our B&B at "Come from Away". Remarkable three course dinner for $35 each. BYOB @ $5t corkage. Tony is host, great guy; Margaret runs the business in the kitchen. If staying over in Digby, find them. You will be happy you did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing