We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest Bed&Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coolest Bed&Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Holdsworth House In Digby Nova Scotia was a great place to stay. A renovated mid 1700's home that made you feel like you steeped back in time-our host Tony and Mag were great and gave a history lesson that showed the imaginative and simpler way of our forefathers. This place is something all people who are addicted to the push button world need to experience. The beautifully renovated home has kept the old world feel despite having the modern day amenities we've all become so used to. I'll definitely be back.=Elliott

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELBOW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location with great view from backyard.

Superb hospitality, great people ... We had good conversations about many topics.
The House is very special, you will enjoy the great bath-tub, very special and fun. They even give you special soaps with Great scent.
Rooms has everything you need.

The breakfast is just superb, good variety!!

I truley think that they were the best host's I ever had in any zimmer/BnB, and I have been to many places in Europe and n.america in the last few years.

Last but not least, the price is fantastic for what you get.
For us it felt like 5 star BnB.
GO THERE :) !!!

Thank you for a great stay!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I had the opportuntiy to stay a couple of nights at Holdsworth House B&B. It is like stepping back in time but with all the modern day ammenities we have come to expect. It's a cozy "living" museum" with restored fireplaces, spinning wheels and lots of period pieces everywhere! Our bedroom with en suite bath was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a great night's rest. No TV, but who needs TV when you are in a restored home like this. We never missed it but had interenet service if we had to keep in touch with the outside world. Margaret and Tony were wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable of the history of the house, the people who had lived there, and the surrounding area. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts at thier cafe/bakery just a few blocks away - and on our scheudle! We also took advantage of an optional cooking class over the open fire like people did in the 18th century! We helped cook a delicious meal of salmon, scallops, veggies, and pumpkin pie! It was fun as well as educational! We truly enjoyed our visit and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Very quiet, restful retreat...a great place to get away from the everyday stress of our busy lives!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucasfamily91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst waiting for our ferry to New Brunswick. When we arrived I was quite shocked at the sight of the B & B but once inside it was a whole different story. The house was a living museum. The hostess, Margaret, was a walking history teacher which we found very interesting. We were shown to our rooms which were large and clean with a modern ensuite shower room. Do not expect the usual hotel facilities such as TV, phones or coffee making machines. We were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived and enjoyed a few drinks sitting outside on the deck watching the scallop boats coming home in the distance. Margaret and husband Tony gave us ideas of where to go to eat, where to visit whilst waiting for our ferry and even told us about the ferry back from Prince Edward Island to Nova Scotia ( we were under the impression that we would have to drive back across the bridge) Breakfast was served in Mag Pyes, the bakery/cafe owned by Margaret and Tony, which is down town (opposite the harbour). We arrived at our leisure and was served anything we wanted of the menu - even came away with a mug which sits on my desk at work reminding me of a briiliant stay. Margaret and Tony are new to the B & B business but if they carry on as they have started then they will be very successful. As the title sugggests, don't be put off by the outside of the house which is currently under renovation, it is the inside that offers something different.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownOwlRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiemaedigby, Owner at Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holdsworth House. We enjoyed having you! You, your wife and your friends were very good company. We are in the process of having the Holdsworth House re-painted. So when you arrived, the work was underway. I am glad that you did not judge us for that "first impression". We are planning to have the work completed early this year, if Mother Nature co-operates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

A highschool buddy and I have been travelling for 80 days, staying at B&B's as much as possible. Holdsworth House was without a doubt the best of them all. From the fastest internet to the freindliest dogs, everything was perfect. We had the priviledge of being the first to use the newly restored room directly upstairs from the kitchen.
We had the most amazing breakfast of poached egg over smoked salmon and crab cakes at Margaret and Tony's bakery/restaurant, Mag Pyes. It was so good, we made a point of returning after a drive around Annapolis Royal for lunch. I will definately return and also send friends and family as well.

Room Tip: The pets you see are by invitation only, but you had best be a pet lover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zedfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great place to stay. We spent two nights at the holdsworth house and we really enjoyed them. Very clean room and comfortable rooms. Awesome breakfast. The owners a very friendly and tell you a lot about the history of the house. It was the best B&B we stayed at during our 3 week roadtrip through Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a lovingly restored 18th century house with the kitchen and common areas appointed and furnished as they might have been 325 years ago. Margaret and Tony are justly proud of the work they have done. They are absolutely outstanding hosts - always very helpful and pleasant company. I suppose the accommodations might not be to everyone's taste (no TV; a steep narrow staircase to our room; no shower, but only a tub in our bathroom), but for us it was perfect! Very comfortable bed; nice clean bathroom facilities; wireless. Coffee in the kitchen. Breakfast at their cafe, a few blocks away, where you can have whatever you might want whenever you might want it (rather than fixed menu at a fixed time, as at most B&B's) We had a two night package which included a bottle of private label wine waiting for us when we arrived and a dinner one night in the cafe, which was open only for us - it is not open to the public in the evening. We chose to have dinner on our second night. The menu was quite flexible. The food was delicious. All for an excellent price. We highly recommend the Holdsworth House, and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.4 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
2.3 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holdsworth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 36 Carleton Street, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Digby's only 18th century bed and breakfast. 3 Guest rooms all with private en-suite. During your stay at the Holdsworth House, you get to experience first hand what life was like for the Loyalist Settler. Full breakfast is served in front of the open hearth in the restored 1780's kitchen. 18th century cooking classes available for an additional charge of $40/person. Prepare a traditional Loyalist meal on the open hearth. For early departures, we will pack you a breakfast picnic. Relax in the afternoon on the back deck overlooking the Bay of Fundy. It is possible to rent the whole house. Please contact for pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Bed And Breakfast Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing