We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It's just as I remember it from some 45 years ago when I came to visit this area as a child.
I thought that we were really living the high style as this was surely the most upscale hotel in the area. I was so pleased to find that it still is and hasn't lost its charm. The grounds are lovely and the patio area is quite inviting. Be sure to stop and have a cocktail! The lobby and common areas are quite grand with many places to sit, play games, and enjoy conversation. (There are two computers here where you can check your email, though there is also free WiFi in the rooms.) Off the lobby is an enclosed atrium where you can sit and enjoy the view that extends to the water. The cost seemed reasonable, particularly since the breakfast buffet is included. We found that food is extremely expensive in Nova Scotia, so it was so nice to have a break on the old pocketbook. This was a very nice buffet. Dinner, on the other hand, was just OK (and not included). The prime rib was overcooked (which seems to be commonplace in NS) and the Reuben was just OK. The best part of dinner were the dill muffins in the bread basket - very good! Offsetting the ordinary dinner was the very attentive service. (There are other dinner options in Digby that are slightly less expensive, but we never did find a place in Nova Scotia that had really good food. Even the Digby Scallops were a let-down.) The rooms are comfortable and clean in this hotel. Although they are small, they appear to have been recently updated. I especially liked the the wide and long hallways... just like the hotels from back in the day... and this is the real thing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay. Although the water is not expecially close to the hotel, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re ecstatic to hear that you returned to our resort after 45 years and it was just as you remembered. We have recently renovated our accommodations with modern amenities while maintaining the original heritage characteristics of our historic resort.

We're sorry to hear we did not meet your dining expectations. Please feel free to contact us directly to further rectify these concerns. We hope you come back and visit our Nova Scotia resort next season; we’d love to have you back.

See you then,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

A well maintained and pleasant resort. rooms are very comforatable,staff are freindly and helpfull
food was a little pricy but well worth it. would highly reccomend. grounds are well maintained pool is heated and sheltered so is pleasant all season. nice view of Digby harbour

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated accommodations, delicious cuisine and friendly & helpful staff. We’re excited to welcome you back to our Nova Scotia resort in the near future.

See you soon,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

And my last visit. If I could have found other accommodations that would accept a small dog, I would have taken it. Digby isn't a large community and I believe if it weren't for the NS-NB ferry, things would be difficult financially for Digby Pines. The main building doesn't allow pets so I took a cottage at $227 a night. I believe this "resort" advertises itself as upscale and I know it isn't. The value isn't there. Main building is nice looking but certainly doesn't justify a 5 star attitude. The positives for the cottage are... 1. it is close to the ferry 2. it is dry 3. it is close to the ferry. Negatives.... 1. lumpy, sagging bed 2. filthy grout in bathroom 3. tub out of 60s just big enough for a toddler 4. air conditioning didn't work well and was outrageously loud 5. grainy TV and/or feed 6. cigaret butt can near the door 7. breakfast starts at 7am, ferry leaves at 8am.

Bottom line and a bit of advice for anyone seeking accommodations in Digby, save yourself a fat chunk of change by booking a reasonably rated room and get a great meal in Digby proper. Nice boardwalk and nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LBAW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of the Digby Pines team, we want to apologize for your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can help rectify this issue. We hope you can come back for the authentic Digby Pines experience that we’re known for.

Talk to you soon,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband's Dad used to be with CP Hotels and I had heard so many testimonies of the many wonderful family holidays, spent at Digby Pines. It was so nice to recapture some of the wonder and awe of those days, The surroundings are still magnificent, the rooms and bathrooms, small, by today's standards, but so well appointed and comfortable, the activities, very plentiful and interesting, the gift shop was so well stocked with very creative, artistic ideas and items, well priced too, the food. and service,divine, But what impressed me the most, was the quality of the service at the front desk. They were pleasant, receptive to our requests and willing to do whatever was needed to accomodate us. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suttonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. We’re happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Digby Pines after hearing about it for so many years. Our dedicated staff love what they do and we are ecstatic that our service shined for you during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Until next time,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The age of the resort only add to it's character. We stayed the night and played a round of golf the next day. The breakfast was reason alone to stay at the Pines. A good nights sleep, a great breakfast and a great round of golf made for a pretty special day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and golf course. We hope you come back soon; we’d love to have you.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Digby Pines is seems like a very historic property which has been kept up-to-date. Rooms are lovely and have wi-fi access. The restaurant is top class and opens out onto a patio overlooking the water - if the weather is fine make sure you have a drink out there. On the weekend we stayed, the bar had music on both nights. There were also other public areas where guests could sit and relax.The hotel has a small gift shop and there was a wide range of tourist brochures on the local area.

The grounds had a number of walks, nothing too strenuous but enough to let you feel you were in a natural environment. One of the walks took us down to the water and the local "beach', which was really just painful stones but a nice walk and view nevertheless. The hotel had a shuttle service into Digby which is far walk away. Staff were firendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to hear you had a memorable vacation while staying at our Nova Scotia resort. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, delicious local cuisine, peaceful walking trail and our friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Digby Pines soon.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I discovered this place by accident while we were looking for a place to stay a few days. The associates are extremely friendly and provide a great service. The room we had, had a view of the harbor of Digby and the bay. The rooms are clean and provide everything you need. The food at the restaurant was excellent and different from the normal steaks and fried fish. It was tasty and interesting in composition of different ingredients. The service was great. I would say that this place is worth a small detour on your next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we’re glad you found our resort on your journey. We’re glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay while enjoying our ocean view rooms, delicious and local cuisine, and friendly staff. We hope you can make it back for a visit in the near future.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
0.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
1.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
194 reviews
1 mi away
Come From Away B&B Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 103 Shore Rd, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range: $111 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Digby Pines Golf Resort and Spa is a Nova Scotia resort with casual elegance overlooking the Bay of Fundy. The Nova Scotia golf resort is located just 2 hours from Halifax, Nova Scotia's capital city. The 100% smoke free resort features the best of Nova Scotia accommodations with 147 total guestrooms, including 85 well appointed rooms and suites in the main chateau. For a more intimate, secluded setting choose from among the 31 one, two and three bedroom Maritime cottages nestled around the spacious grounds. Each has its own cozy living room with a fireplace and veranda. Complimentary wireless internet is available in the Grande Lounge and meeting rooms. Digby Pines is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia vacation with its breathtaking beauty, AVEDA concept spa overlooking the Bay of Fundy, gothic style outdoor heated pool, wooded hiking trails, lawn croquet, shuffleboard and fitness centre. Play a round of Nova Scotia golf at the par 71, 18 hole picturesque Pines Golf Course, one of Stanley Thompson's masterpieces. For a true taste of dining luxury, experience the cuisine of the Nova Scotia resort's renowned Churchill's Restaurant and Lounge, an award winning Nova Scotia restaurant. Casual meals are served at the 19th Hole Clubhouse & Eatery, offering a panoramic view of our award winning golf course. Digby Pines is also the perfect setting for a Nova Scotia conference with 6 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 250 - 350 dependent on event and set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Digby Pines Hotel Digby
Digby Pines Resort Digby
The Pine Resort Digby
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing