We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good for the Ferry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coulsdon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only good for the Ferry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a retro style inn (not intentional) with the meanest sliver of soap I've ever seen in the bathroom! The doors stick, the handles rattle etc. I'm sure the owners try hard but there must be better places to stay if you are catching the Ferry. They do an early breakfast for the 8.00 am ferry but it's not generous - own brand cereals seem to be the standard.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coulsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBob, Owner at Bayside Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
I realize it is difficult to please all the people all the time ... but we do try.
I believe that maybe I will have to post on our web site what our early breakfast, for quests leaving on the early ferry, consists of. Cold cereals, " home made" banana bread, zucchini loaf, muffins & yogurt, orange and apple juice, coffee and tea. If this is not what a guest would expect they then have the opportunity to check out another Inn.
Our bath soap is wrapped 3/4 ounce, this is the size most places use.
Lastly our Inn is over 100 years old and in the humid weather some of the doors do stick as far as handles rattling ???
We are sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    75
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
189
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Bayside Inn was wonderful - beautifully decorated inside and lovely gardens outside. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and cozy. The owners were very friendly and helpful in offering suggestions for area sites, and we were in easy walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The breakfast was one of the best we had during our 2-week trip in Nova Scotia!

Room Tip: We would stay at the Bayside Inn again if we were to return to Digby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carma2457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful room with an old fashioned tub in a huge bathroom and a beautiful view of the bay from our window. Everything was clean. We had a good time playing music with Bob who is a talented singer and guitar player. Theresa's quilts are lovely. Breakfast was delicious. They were both very helpful with local information. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbosyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B and although I don't think we are B&B people we did enjoy our stay here. The house is beautifully decorated with lots of nautical themed ornaments and decorations and many of Theresa's quilt wall hangings which made the house feel very cozy and welcoming. Bob gave us some good suggestions of where to eat and directions to places we were going to. My room was at the front of the house and I liked overlooking the activity outside and in the harbour. The breakfast was very nice with homemade breads and muffins as well as custom cooked eggs, bacon and toast and some other offerings. My favourite place in the house was the front sunporch where you could sit and relax and read or watch what was happening outside.

I was a bit taken aback when I noticed an envelope on a table in my room that said "A little something for the housekeeper". I think I can understand this because there would be a significant amount of work needed to keep this Inn so clean and tidy but I was still a bit surprised to see something like this which I didn't think fit in with the welcoming feel of the rest of the house.

Room Tip: Bring some earplugs as you might find them useful depending on which room you get and if you sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying overnight in Digby in order to catch the ferry to St. John so we wanted cheap and easy. That's just what we got. The price was great, even though we were told we may have to share a bathroom( no big whoop for us). The Inn is basically a revised house made into lots of quaint rooms with a common room on the main floor. Early moring breakfast didn't allow for a full fry up but the proprieters did give us as much as we wanted in terms of a cold meal. Very good value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed two nights, first time in a B&B. The house is lovely in decoration and the front porch allows for chatting with others. I was in a front facing the street room. Unfortunately, motorcycles were arriving so it was noisy and hard to sleep but that was no fault of the owners. The breakfast was excellent, the fresh baked muffins/loafs were so good. Easy to get to restaurants and Bob recommended the Boardwalk to eat stand I went both nights I was there because it was so good.
Only complaint, the bed squeaks and it could use a new mattress. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Born2travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBob, Owner at Bayside Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
The squeaky bed will be looked after, thanks...if people don't tell us these things we can't look after them. Sorry about the motorcycle noise but it was the beginning of the week for Digby's annual motorcycle rally and many bikes we starting to arrive. Estimates were around 30,000 bikes arrived by Friday. Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked this place based on advertised special:
" Couples traveling together " Two private rooms, each with one bed, a vanity/sink/mirror, cable TV, WiFi, bathrobes. A large private detached bathroom. Just $64 per room. A full "homemade" breakfast is also included.

As we were nearing the end of 2 weeks of travelling together with 2 teenaged boys, it was a nice break to have a separate room for them. Although not ensuite, the bathroom was situated in such a way that we had our own corner of the inn to ourselves. Sinks in room helpful. Hosts available as needed- did not feel obligated to visit much as we have experienced at times in other B&Bs. Also enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants and although our room did not have a view, we spent a lot of time taking in the sunset and then a spectacular sunrise over the bay just across from the Inn. Felt we got exactly as advertised so very pleased!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 115 Montague Row | P.O. Box 459, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly standing on Digby's waterfront with panoramic unobstructed view. Lovely bayside stroll to town for shopping & a delicious seafood meal. Central location within a 30 mile radius of whale watching, sight seeing & historic sites. The Bayside has been catering to tourist & business people for over 100 years. Family operated since 1954. Down home and friendly while maintaining guests privacy with spacious rooms with TVs and comfortable chairs. Many rooms with waterfront view. Spa services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel Digby
Bayside Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing