We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant inn”
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were sorry we could only stay one night at Bayside. We enjoyed everything about this place. It is in the true tradition of hotels, warm and welcoming. Our room was spacious and ready upon arrival. Bob is a very pleasant man, helpful with the information we needed.We had access to a fridge for our food and a freezer for our ice packs, which is much appreciated when you are on the road. Bayside is very well located very close to the center of Digby within walking distance to restaurants. In the morning we enjoyed Theresa's breakfast. We recommend 100%.

Gilles / Montreal

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Bayside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed one night here before getting the St. John ferry. The rooms were spacious, clean and attractive. The host prepares a light breakfast at 6:20 am for those taking the ferry and a full breakfast for those eating later. The inn has a wonderful view of the harbor and is within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Hurry and stay here -- the inn is up for sale!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Bayside Inn while driving around Nova Scotia. It is very well located right on the water,with a great view, and across from the Visitor Center. Our room was ready on arrival. It was located on the first( or second depending on whether you are British or American) floor, a little small but fully functional.We had to haul our heavy suitcase up, but that is true of most Inns, so just a lesson we learned: carry less. The owners are very pleasant and informal. We left early next morning to take the ferry to Saint John NB, and had missed the full breakfast, but there was good coffee and buns . Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast situated right on the waterfront. Bob, our host, was friendly and polite. He assisted us with booking a whale watching tour for the following day, upon our arrival. Our room was well prepared, clean and spacious. Breakfast offered several options, including options for vegetarians as well.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with heavy luggage, request a room on the second floor, as there is no assistan...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at the bayside. Theresa and Bob are welcoming hosts. Our room was large with nice view of the waterfront and the bathroom was huge. It was tricky getting our heavy luggage up two flights of stairs. Bed was roomy and comfortable. Breakfast was generous and the banana bread is lovely. Theresa even helped to wash off our clothes which got soaked in a whale watch cruise with out charging. Wifi was working fine and fast. Very easy to find and places to eat are close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EranBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This property is for sale & has been for some time. Unfortunately it shows in the attitude of the hosts- they clearly want out of the business. The rooms were fine, the breakfast was fine & the location was excellent but we couldn't get rid of the niggling feeling that they just wished we'd all go away! They were nowhere to be seen after breakfast each day- no one to ask if we could have a cup of hot water for tea. No one ever asked if we needed anything. They have photo albums everywhere showing the pool in the back- tempting the guests in the hot humid weather... but oops- it's not for their guests use! Nice property- probably nicer if someone enthusiastic would buy it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattiembc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Theresa & I are obviously very dissappointed in this review for a few reasons. We know we cannot plesae everyone but we do really try. We do have the Inn for sale, this is our 26th year at The Bayside and we have worked very hard over the years to please our guests and we believe it shows. Yes, we now would like to retire ( not clearly want out of the business ) this has been our home & we are proud of our B&B and will dearly miss it for sure. Apparently these guests wanted more personal attention, perhaps a small B&B would have been more suited to them where they sit in the owners living room and chat. We handle up to 24 guests a night.
They said we were nowhere to been seen after breakfast. We get up each day at approx. 5:15am to serve an early breakfast at 6:20am for guests leaving for the N.B. ferry. We then get ready for the daily breakfast beginning at 7:30am till 9am. After this we have lots of things to do, guests are usually out exploring. We do talk to our guests and are concerned of their needs , I believe most feel we are friendly. We don't bug them...it's their vacation, we are nice & do join in with our guest when the occasion arises. We always tell guests about the restaurants & town and answer whatever questions we can & also point out that there is a nice tourist info centre just across the street with lots of brouchures & ideas of things to do in the area. We have a front entrance office and if anyone needs help they ring the bell and we come. We don't serve coffee & tea all day..we are a 5 minute walk to lots of nice restaurants and cafe's.
Since we have the Inn for sale we have a small album in the sunporch and one in office area.
I don't think we are tempting our guests with our pool. The guests are all too busy exploring our beautiful province taking in the scenery, history, whale watching etc.
I am sorry if they felt neglected, perhaps they should try a smaller more intimit B&B on their next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

the bayside inn is just like b and b's used to be. simple, unpretentious, homey, with mixed antiques and slightly newer pieces, a front porch glassed in with views of the bay of fundy. lace curtains, brown tweed carpeting, some chintz, flowery wallpaper, very clean if a little worn. nothing frou-frou, no teddy bears in sight but family pictures. very clean and the owners friendly and helpful but ready to sell it after many years.

Room Tip: we liked out second floor room on the front with a good view and a huge bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiechouteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Come From Away B&B Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Address: 115 Montague Row, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range: $82 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly standing on Digby's waterfront with panoramic unobstructed view. Lovely bayside stroll to town for shopping & a delicious seafood meal. Central location within a 30 mile radius of whale watching, sight seeing & historic sites. The Bayside has been catering to tourist & business people for over 100 years. Family operated since 1954. Down home and friendly while maintaining guests privacy with spacious rooms with TVs and comfortable chairs. Many rooms with waterfront view. Spa services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel Digby
Bayside Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing