We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
219 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Lovely place to stay. We enjoyed the ocean-view rooms with a private bath. Owners are very accomodating for local restaurant and whale watching suggestions. Breakfast is over the top good.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sbj04769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    75
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
189
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

Recently, my 9-year-old daughter and I took a trip to Digby, Nova Scotia. Our stay at the Bayside Inn was wonderful!
Our room was perfect, and the breakfast was excellent and got us off to a great start every day!

Bob and Theresa were welcoming, and we really appreciated their advice with our daily plans. Their pup, Sam, is very sweet and friendly and made us feel right at home.

We would highly recommend the Bayside Inn and would love to visit again.
P.S.
Their website link to Pirate's Cove Whale Watching was very helpful.
They are a professional and friendly crew. We were very lucky to see two humpback whales up close and for quite a while!

  • Liked — It was beautiful, clean and had waterfront view.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Imatropicalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

It's a good thing the builders of the Bayside Inn had the good sense to erect the structure facing due east, right into a glorious sunrise across the bay, because the Almighty surely wasn't about to change His grand plan for ushering in each day.

We spent a marvelous week there, beginning with those beautiful dawns each day. The hosts were gracious. Our room was comfortable. The food was good. The location was convenient.

And Digby is within easy driving distance of many wonderful attractions, such as Brier Island, where one can watch humpback whales; or Annapolis Royal, where you see old French forts and plenty of museums; or Yarmouth and the southwest coast; or the Balancing Rock -- all of which we did during our week at the Bayside Inn.

Oh, and did I mention the gorgeous sunrise?

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank GreekTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

While doing genealogy research in the area my husband and I stayed at the Bayside Inn for 6 nights. Our third floor en suite room was large, quiet, and very clean. Bob and Teresa were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts each morning were delicious. The location was excellent for visiting Brier Island, the Acadian area, Annapolis Royal, Kijmakujik National Park and hunting around Digby County. Digby has some very nice local restaurants for lunch and dinner and we had everything we needed close by so we could leave our car parked and walk around the town. Waterside views from the Bayside Inn are lovely but we chose a room at the back to be away from the street. Parking is available directly across the street and a short walk away from the tourist information building. Digby is both a quiet and busy little town and we were very pleased with choosing the Bayside Inn for our stay. We were there just before the season began and found that time to be ideal for what we wanted to do. We will definitely stay at the Bayside Inn again when we are in Digby.

  • Liked — Excellent location, lovely and large room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Bayside Inn. Our room was very spacious and comfortable the shared bathroom was clean, there was free wireless internet and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleHazeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

This was a nice B&B, not great but not bad. It's a huge property, right on the bay, we chose a room that had a bay view and it was worth it, but watch out, you will wake up with the sun which rises early early early. Bob & Theresa were nice, the place was for sale at the time we were there (we saw it at the real estate agency just down the street!) so maybe they will be handing it over. Check in was easy, breakfast was very good and filling, Theresa makes the best bran muffins you would ever guess could be made, and I'm not a bran fan. That plus coffee, juice, cereal and eggs and toast and your choice of meat. Wowee.

We were traveling on the road for a long time and we had to do some sleuthing to find that there was, in fact, a smal refrigerator we could use which was not in the private part of the B&B. This info was not offered up easily, but it is there on the 3rd floor along with a microwave. Internet surfing was available because we asked and they were nice enough to let us use their computers. Our bedroom had a bathroom en suite, which some do not, though it was somewhat awkward as it had some obvious big storage area that was not intended for guests. The decor is outdated, but the place is clean. They do have a dog on site so if you are allergic, be aware or ask more about that, but he's a total sweetie.

Digby is a charming place, it needs only a day and a half max to explore, it's a port city and there is so much more to find in Nova Scotia. It's a good place to stay the night before a ferry or night after.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

I recently stayed at the Bayside Inn and it was amazing. The view from my room of the Annapolis basin was breath taking and the room was so quaint. I loved the old fashioned tub. Breakfast was so good. Lots of variety and Bob and Theresa the hosts were so nice. I highly recommend the Bayside Inn. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — the view and the beautiful room
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JennEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 115 Montague Row, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly standing on Digby's waterfront with panoramic unobstructed view. Lovely bayside stroll to town for shopping & a delicious seafood meal. Central location within a 30 mile radius of whale watching, sight seeing & historic sites. The Bayside has been catering to tourist & business people for over 100 years. Family operated since 1954. Down home and friendly while maintaining guests privacy with spacious rooms with TVs and comfortable chairs. Many rooms with waterfront view. Spa services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel Digby
Bayside Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing