We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

The Breakers Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Tidnish, Canada
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. The house is amazing!! The history incredible. The rooms are big and spacious. Beautifully decorated with moderan comforts coupled with the beauty of history. Really beautiful. The bed was awesome. Comfortable, wonderful linens we got a good nights sleep every night. Each room has it's own bathroom. Our's was beautiful. It was very moderan with all the amendities needed. Big fluffy towels and even housecoats if needed. I can't say enough about breakfast. Prepared fresh each morning was a hot meal. The portions were incredible. I had fluffy scrambled eggs with ham and multigrain toast. This was accompanied with fresh fruit and fresh sliced tomatoes. Freshly brewed coffee and orange juice were on hand. As well as an assortment of cakes. My husband had the french toast and sausage with all the same sides as me. It was hugh, delicious and more than you'd see at a restuarant. I can't wait to go back to beautiful Digby and The Breakers again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our historic home was built between 1853-1857. It was owned by the same family and ancestors from 1853 - 2000. We are the only non family members to live in the house. We purchased the house in 2000 after the last family member died and there were no more heirs.
The house is of Georgian styling with a double porch with Roman colums with a true panoramic view of the harbour . When entering the front door many interesting stories are shared.
Comments by " Awsome " are very much appreciated. Your satisfaction is our satisfaction. We have worked very hard to do our best for all our guests.

The present and the future are our focus during our successful transition. Our website contains meaningful information, answers to questions, pictures and our free itinerary for day trips. This makes the most of of each day providing driving directions and sequenced sights to see and places to go.. Each day we prepare a new itinererary for you.

www.thebreakersbb.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    10
    3
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at The Breakers for the Labour day weekend for the past 7 years, and we have been treated like family from the moment that we walked through the door back then and it gets better each year. Not only is the house beautifully and tastefully decorated, you can relax comfortably in your room, or you can enjoy the wonderful waterfront views and conversation on the veranda. Where most hotels only carry samplers of toiletries, the Breakers bathrooms are excellently equipped and much thought was put in catering to female travellers. Betty and George really go above and beyond in welcoming you not only to Digby, but always have handy maps, instructions and places for you to go and see in the surrounding area. The Breakers rooms can accommodate the single traveller, couples looking for a get away, and families and we would highly recommend it as a stopping point of your trip to Digby and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
This is in response to the review " Home Away From Home " Sept. 2, 2013. When guests return over several years in this case 7 years they become family and personal ties grow and we support each other lives. As stated in previous responses our Bed and Breakfast is small and we are there for guests throughout their visit. When reservations are made by email or phone we gather information as our way of pre planning some things that are important to you.
You are not registered by a computer.
Our bathrooms are large with marble floors, deep English soker tubs with shower, all amenities, high end towels and linens and an individual thermostat
Book early for availability 1- 866- 333- 5773 or breakers@ns.sympatico.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We read all of the reviews that are posted and we fail to understand what people are expecting when they book into a historical home. This home has definite charm and represents a time in history that will not be recaptured. Although some of the comments are valid we feel that the owners generosity and friendliness far outweigh the negative comments. They are very accommodating and the breakfast was delicious.

Betty and Ray O'Toole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your validation that The Breakers has achieved the highest level of sophistication and guest satisfaction for a Bed and Breakfast. This opinion was also expressed in the review titled " Nova Scotia Jewel ." Two inspections by Canada Select and CAA / AAA also support our guest comments. Canada Select has awarded us a 5 star rating . This is the highest level that can be achieved. There are only two or three Bed and Breakfasts that also hold this level in the province. CAA / AAA inspected us yesterday. We were given a three diamond rating. He called it " a strong three diamond rating with some areas reaching the four star level. These criteria are based on hotel standards. For guests who are thinking of holiday plans in 2014 please check out our website at www.thebreakersbb.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our sincere thanks to the owners of The Breakers. A gorgeous property overlooking the serene, picturesque Digby Harbour. Tastefully decorated, down to the crystal drinking glasses in the guest rooms. We sat on the front porch and chatted with the owners after enjoying a lovely meal at a restaurant they had recommended. A scrumptous and inventive breakfast, and we appreciated also their recommendations for places of interest. Shops a restaurants a five-minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
The Breakers B &B became a member of Trip Advisor in January 2013. Prior to this date I did not know of prior comments and as such did not respond. It is my understanding guest comments and owner responses should not contain personal insults.

The Breakers believes that change is good. It represents forward thinking , innovation, and refinement. The Breakers has gone through a total makeup for the 2013 season. We have been refined and transformed to the next level of sophistication and guest satisfaction.

To date we have had an excellent 2013 season. We have met people from around the world and thank all of our guests for their kindness.. A thank you to our latest guest with the caption of "Nova Scotia Jewel" Aug. 16,2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the second stop for our honeymoon and many of the reviews had it wrong. The room smelt old and musty. The bed was like sleeping on the ground. The owner kept locking the door every time we left to go out. Had to ring the doorbell to be let back in and then at 8pm they went to bed and we couldn't go out or we would have been locked out. The owners were very friendly though that is why it is not getting a 1 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your email. I felt your email was sincere and brought up very good points about the front door. Our house is very large and at times it is hard to monitor who is entering and who is leaving. Security is of utmost concern for our guests and for our family. Too much of a mother hen is evident. We appoligize for this. We've consulted a few other B&B's and we think a two key system is best. Each guest will have a front door key and a key to their bedroom. Your efforts on our behalf are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Digby hotels

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It could have been a lovely historic home had the hostess not gone wild with her collecting "stuff". The stuff (not antiques) overwhelms the entire house to the point that proper cleaning can not be done. Definitely not a 5 or even 4 star B&B. Even weirder was the fact that a 5 star rating had been given the previous week by Canada Select--or so we were told!

Room Tip: The 2 front bedrooms have had the bathrooms nicely updated and have a view over the street to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWtraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We were unaware of your comment until we joined Trip Advisor this year ( 2013 ). Your input led us to re-evaluate and set a new direction for The Breakers Bed and Breakfast. We ask you to view our new website at www.thebreakersbb.com . We met the challenge and I would like to share with you what has been accomplished in our 2013 season. Guest comments in 2013 run very high. We have been inspected by Canada Select and have achieved their highest rating of five stars. We were also inspected by CAA/AAA and were rated three diamonds. These two combined gave us the distiction of bveing the highest rated B&B in Nova Scotia. If you should return to Nova Scotia please stop by so we can personally thank you for helping us chart our course. Betty Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My review of my recent stay at the Breakers mimicks the others on this site. It's all true. I counted at least 4 sets of heavy drapes on the windows of our room. My friend had to move heavy chairs in order to open a window. Every inch of flat surface including the walls is covered with stuff you would pick up at flea markets. We just completed a 10 night stay in Nova Scotia and this was the most expensive B&B. Not worth the price in my opinion. I can't imagine how it rates 5 stars at Canada Select. It's time for a review folks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene102655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We joined Trip Advisor in January 2013. At that point we read your comments. Your comments are sincere and we saw it was an opportunity to re-evaluate. Step by step we made changes to reflect the opinions and needs of our guests. We learned from your description that " less is more." The rooms now are sophisticated with clear flat surfaces and only necessary lamps, drinking and wine glasses and ice buckets are visible. Custom draperies with ease of opening are now used. Thank you for making us all the better. In 2013 we have earned five stars by Canada Select and three Diamonds by CAA/AAA. The inspector from AAA was here a few weeks ago. He commented that we were a strong three diamond property. With guest help we have reached our full potential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.7 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Come From Away B&B Inn
2.5 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Breakers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Water Street, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Bed and Breakfast is a historic property that has been written in two Nova Scotia history books. We are the only B&B / Inn that has a panoramic view of the Digby waterfront. Digby scallop boats and the highest tides in the world. With Digby as a home base guests cover all of southwestern Nova Scotia. As you picik an area to travel The Breakers arranges for your driving routes and areas of interests in sequence. This provides a fun filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Bed & Breakfast Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing