We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Digby Backpackers Inn
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place and Hosts”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here one night and had a great time with the guests and hosts. Both directed me to local and special places I was unaware of including places to get great Digby scallops. I really liked this place and would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripper0157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is one of my favorite hostels in Canada. Since 2010 I am always come back to stay at the hostel. It is very clean, people gather together in the living room or kitchen, awesome staff and friendly owners, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The house is so well kept and so conveniently located. Every where is accesssible within walking distance...the public laundry, the fish market, convenience stores, restaurants, the harbour...The kitchen is fully equipped and I enjoyed cooking lobsters and scallops there so much. Saskia, Claude and the helpers are always around to offer help! Digby Backpackers is very resourceful and introduced to us lots of local beautiful sites and memorable tours. It was really too bad we could only stay for 6 nights. There were still many things we wanted to do but couldn't, due to the time we had. Advice to everyone: If you want to travel to Digby, don't just plan it as a stopover. Give yourself more time there to explore and stay at Digby Backpackers Inn. We guarantee that you will have a wonderful experience!
Claude, Saskia, Asher and Brendan, you guys rock!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lams R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I visit Digby for 4 days by myself and stayed at this hostel. It was great. Very clean and the owners and volunteers were very friendly and helpfull. It was like staying with friends. I definitely recommend this hostel if you visit Digby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaLC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I give this place ten out of ten. Its perfect. So clean and only a few minutes walk to the harbour. We only stayed one night but they let us check in late due to the bus times. Also they let us hang out the next day while waiting on our pick up lift. The breakfast was great and loads of it which is also nice.

We would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My cousin and I were bicycling Nova Scotia and needed a last minute place to stay before catching the ferry back to the mainland. Finally we learned of the hostel and, being poor bike travelers, they were gracious enough to offer us a camping option and full use of facilities (showers much needed at this point). As a special unadvertised bonus, we were treated to some fine gin and lovely conversation. Talk about yer extras, ey?! Hail to the Queen! (too much? new to this commonwealth thing...) :D

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I typically don't stay in hostels, but I was very pleasantly surprised with Digby Backpackers Inn. It was very clean and comfortable, and felt more like I was staying with old family friends than a hostel. There was only 4 people staying there that night, so the 1 bathroom was a non-issue. If I ever find myself in Digby again, I will definitely drop by for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
1.5 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harmony Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Come From Away B&B Inn
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Digby Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Digby Backpackers Inn

Property: Digby Backpackers Inn
Address: 168 Queen Street, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a backpackers hostel with simple accommodations and SHARED facilities. Located right in town, minutes walk from restaurants and waterfront, 10 minutes walk from bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Digby Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Digby Backpackers Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing