We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana's BBQ and Bar

Montana's BBQ and Bar
Ranked #61 of 261 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montana’s is all things BBQ to all people. Whether you’re in the mood for southern style in-house smoked ribs and pulled pork or looking for some Canadian BBQ flavour across our burgers, steaks and sandwiches; Montana’s has the perfect atmosphere to bring the family or meet up with friends. Fire up the good times at Montana’s BBQ & Bar!
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Have not been to this Montana's in some time but dined here recently with my 14 yr old son.

We were seated quickly and the restaurant itself was very nice.

We ordered deep fried pickles as an app, I had Cobb Salad, and my son had a bacon cheeseburger with fries.

Our food was served in a reasonable time and we enjoyed everything. I was a teeny bit sad that the cornbread doesnt come with salads anymore, but there was a ton of food. I also am a true believer that avocado should be on a Cobb salad but oh well :)

Montana's has gotten a little pricey, but at least we left full and I even had leftovers for lunch the next day. And this is a good location, they do a good job.

Thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    41
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
214 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Montana's is a safe bet (as is their associate franchise Swiss Chalet) any time.

This location is located at Dartmouth Crossing where there is more than ample parking (and lots of other places of all kinds to spend your money if so inclined).

I had a great Cobb salad, the plate filled with real bacon bits, crispy lettuce (romaine) which I specifically substituted for the normal 'mixed greens', lots of diced tomatoes, a pile of cheddar cheese, very tasty sliced chicken (deli style) along with fresh sliced mushrooms and green onion. Large quantity...

Service was great provided by a cheery server who made sure all went well.

Full marks for this location.

I'll return...

Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service was excellent. It was our 2 year old's birthday - the staff brought him and his brother a cookie and sang. They spoke directly with our 4 year old and engaged in conversations with him. (we went for a late lunch so it was quieter than I would expect).

The portions were significant and we left either full or taking some to-go. Recommend the caesar salad as a side - not heavy on the dressing but loaded with bacon and real parmesan. The smokehouse house wrap was delicious ---- only complaint would be the bacon inside was not cooked so we just had to pull it out; couldn't be chewed it was that poorly cooked. My husband has the brisquette, soup and Caesar salad - again, delicious!

Well don to all staff on providing us with a great experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty good! Poutine with ribs was delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were greeted pretty fast. Nice friendly waitress. We had the poutine appetizer with ribs in it, it was delicious! Sweet peach BBQ sandwich, was good but not great. The waitress forgot some minor details but she did have a lot of tables she was tending to, not just us. Overall, good food. Good atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Digz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Ordered build your own burger, was delicious. ... they forgot cheese, I didnt really mind, they knocked half off price and gave coupon for next visit.

Wife mentioned to our server (Krista) about lactose allergy, she had manager come over and go through menu including sauces etc to make sure she could make good choices.

We'll be back

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's BBQ and Bar also viewed

Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Montana's BBQ and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing