We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John's Lunch great service, excellent food”
Review of John's Lunch

John's Lunch
Ranked #2 of 266 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: We are a small family-run diner specializing in fresh deep-fried seafood, diner meals and pizza. Our fish has won "Best In Canada" by Canadian Living Magazine, 'Gold Awards' from The Coast Halifax for Best Seafood, Best Fish and Best Diner as well as multiple tripadvisor "Certificate of Excellence" awards. Come visit the one and only "JOHN'S LUNCH" and be a part of our family!
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“John's Lunch great service, excellent food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

after a disappointing attempt to try Boondocks in Eastern Passage, we went to a familiar place that always provides great service and excellent fish & chips. What a treat! It was busy but that didn't make any difference... service with a smile and great food too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    136
    42
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth,Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went back”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had the seafood platter.Piece of fish,scallops,shrimp & lots of clams.It was all very enjoyable.The fish & fries were great.Didn't hit it s good the first time but I guess that can happen.Would recommend John's lunch to anyone

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scaneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“after reading reviews, I have to say I was disappointed.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

fish with not fresh. In fact it was pre cooked and refried. Which made it very greasy. Fries were not fresh cut, they were frozen. This makes no sense to me.this is the fourth place I've had fish and chips in the area.so far it ranks 4th

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fish, not so great fries”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Prior to our trip to the east cost we did some reading on the best places to eat fish and chips. John's Lunch was highly recommended. I was very pleased with the fish, it was fresh, tasty, and the portion sizes were adequate. The fish was not greasy and was delicious. What surprised me, was that the fries were frozen and the tartar sauce was not homemade. This was disappointing although the great fish made up for it. Overall, I would return to John's Lunch but would recommend homemade fries to complete the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nbay43335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“John's is still the best”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It has been awhile since we had visited John's but it was as good as always. The portion of clams was larger than the fries and fresh along with great flavour. I had read a review saying they had soggy clams in the end, I purposely left 4 clams on my plate until I had finished everything else and they were crispy as the first one. I also live in an area where a new fish and chip place recently opened and claims had been made they were as good as John's, I tried them twice and John's still rules!! We will return!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wile1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Lunch also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to John's Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing