We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch and a brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brewdebakers Tap & Grill - CLOSED

Brewdebakers Tap & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Brewdebaker's Tap & Grill is the perfect setting for any occasion. A family outing, a business lunch, a night out with the girls or a first date. A varied menu with many offerings such as ribs, steaks, burgers, pastas and much more. Lots of parking. Locally owned and operated. Second location now open in Clayton Park, Halifax.
St. John's
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and a brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had lunch at this great place with friends. The local beer selection is quite large, and you can't go wrong with their pub fare, specially their burgers.
Would I go back? You bet
Would I bring my friends? You bet

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringTraveller40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. Had great friendly service, drinks immediately, food was fresh and tastey. Had their lunch special, kind of a Mexican pizza thing, really good. I think it's kind of a thing of the past, but I would return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
344 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“lacklustre meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This use to be our favorite restaurant back in its day. Unfortunately,their day has come and gone-just like the brewery it once hosted.
The service was top notch-no complaints at all. We sat in the bar area.
I had a caeasar salad and could not find any dressing on it-had to ask...pathetic!
My husband had the spinach salad and he enjoyed it-you could see and taste his dressing!
This place needs a big shake-up,to return it to the place it once was! Sad!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service, okay food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Went around 3pm, very dead except for one man on a conference call.
Seated fairly quickly, drinks immediately. Girl was very friendly, funny, chatted with us (said it was very busy for lunch that day).
I ordered the Great White
North burger (good size, good flavour, grilled not caramelised onions, meat a little dry but not over cooked), and sweet potato fries (well cooked, but I suspect they're Costco). Friend had Black n' Blue burger (charred, very dry, cheese a bit too strong, fries were good, but not handcut). The kettle cheese chips app was great: lighter than nachos, lots/good topping, aioli was good. Prices were okay; both paid $22, splitting the app.
Would return, nice when it's quieter.
(Sleemans has moved out the building, so can't see tanks anymore and store's closed: sad)

Helpful?
Thank georgiienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although I should know better than to order a pulled pork sandwich from here since the last time was terrible, it's been over a year so I tried it again. Still terrible!

But I do have to say that our waitress was very good! Excellent customer service, it would be great to have this kind of service with a smile everywhere.

I don't know her name, she had long straight dark brown hair...

The loaded kettle chips here are very good, so the meal wasn't a total loss! And my spouse enjoyed the beer battered fish & chips. Just stay away from the pulled "fat" sandwiches!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelHelper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewdebakers Tap & Grill also viewed

Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing