We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inner city camping”
Review of Shubie Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shubie Campground
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great inner city camping”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained campground with clean washrooms. Showers are hot with lots of pressure. $0.50 for 3.5 min. Campsites are typical of a private campground - you will not find the same privacy as a national park campground. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is prime if you are exploring the city. 10 min walk to pubs and restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Timmer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the comments Timmer44. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you back next summer. The Shubie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
28
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portuguse Cove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and our two girls have enjoyed camping at Shubie each summer for the last 6 years or so. Each year we look forward to the peacefulness of the campground, combined with the fun filled lifeguarded beach only a short walk down a path. You forget you are in the city with the vast trees and Shubie park perfect for biking, hiking and dog walking. However, you drive 10 minutes down one main road and you are on the Dartmouth waterfront, and then a 7 min ferry ride to the Halifax waterfront. We usually don't stray far though as there is a tennis court and playground that we make plenty of use of. Our kids love to bike on the roads of the campground and make plenty of new friends along the way. We love the neighbourhood feel of the evenings, cuddling around the campfires, roasting marshmallows and hotdogs. This past summer, there were familes visiting whose kids were competing in the fiddling competition downtown. Our girls stopped by and listened in to the different families practising, and before we knew it, tap shoes were out and other families stopped by to join in the fun. These are the moments, lasting memories are made for parents and kids alike. Nights are peaceful and sleep comes easy after a leisure day of relaxing, swimming, and playing games. Camping at Shubie is the hightlight of our summers, and we can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Laura C! Thank you so much for the great comments. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My Husband and I camped at Shubie from Thursday last week until Sunday. The campgound was will looked after. It was a little pricey but considering how close you are to the cities it was great. Also the staff were very kind. The only thing I would complain about is having to pay for the
showers. We have been camping for along time and in the last fifteen years campgrounds stopped charging for the showers. We have not run into this again until
Shubie. Charging for showers should have gone out with the dinosaurs. It would be better if you included in the price. Again we did like staying there and the paths are wonderful for walking.

Your truly Joyce

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Joyce R - we value your feedback and will take your comments into consideration when reviewing our pricing for next year. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and got to get out and use the trails. Hopefully we'll see you back again with us next summer. The Shubie Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very expensive for what you get, Staff advised me that it was part of camping in the city.
The playground, beach, walking trails, tennis courts and ball field are all available to the general public for free. Nothing at the campground is for campers only.
The firewood is wet and expensive.
No planned activities for kids. That being said, the playground that was paid for by Halifax Regional Municipality is new and quite nice. Again, this is not for campers only.
The campground was not at all full but yet they ran out of gate passes.
Store lacks basic camping supplies. When I asked the staff why they didnt have simple things like hotdogs they answered that we were only 6 kms from the grocery store. I did not go camping to leave the campground.
I had to do an emergency load of laundry, I had no cash, I went to the office and asked if they had an ATM, they did not. I asked if they did cash back, they did not. I had to leave the campground to find a corner store in order to get some cash back. If a campground has paid showers they should at least have an option for campers to get change.
As I walked my 18 month old and 3 year old on a sunday afternoon on labour day weekend I walked three times next to a site where a camper was smoking marijuana.
I checked in one day earlier then originally booked, due to unforeseen circumstances I had to leave after spending four nights. At 08:30 am, I asked if I could check out a day earlier, the staff advised me that they had a no refund policy, unless its 72 hours notice. On the website it does not state no refund, it stated that you they will advise you of the refund policy when the reservation is confirmed. This was never done. I will admit that when I did enquire about checkin out earlier the staff member pointed to the sign hanging on the side wall behind a plant that it is written NO REFUNDS. I`ve spent over 30 nights camping this summer in the 3 maritime provinces and never had such a poor experience. I`ve lived in Dartmouth for 20 years and had never camped at Shubbie before this trip. Now I know why I never did.
After speaking with other past campers of Shubbie, it appears that the staff are more concern to be "CAMPGROUND CONCIERGES" for their seasonal campers.
If your going to book at Shubbie, book and pay one night at a time. The campground was not near full on labour day weekend when all other campgrounds are fully booked. Hopefully management reads this review and begins making changes.
On a positive, the water and electrical hookups are new and clean. However all the sites with sewage and used by the "seasonal" campers.
This campground is perfect for older couples with no kids

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ja3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Camping over a long weekend should be fun and easy and without issue. We value your opinion and are very sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Based on your comments will look into making some adjustments to the wording of our refund policy on our website and our reservation confirmations. We will also take a look at our policy with regards to providing our campers with better access to emergency cash if and when needed and we take all campers suggestions for stocking our store into consideration. Thank you again for your comments. We pride ourselves on being family friendly and we are very sorry that your experience was not a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A large campground for trailers and tents, has lots of hook-ups for all size of trailers. Located on a beautiful lake with walking and biking trail, a swimming beach, boat rentals and it is all located near a major shopping area, Dartmouth Crossing. We've been twice this year, very clean grounds and the owners are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you Foxcar for the 5 Star review! We're glad you had a good visit and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I RV at Subie every summer.It has all the necessities; great staff and well maintained and extras, beach and beautiful hiking/walking trails. The quick access Halifax and Dartmouth makes it a little more costly butthe convenience is worth it.
Diane C

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you Dianna C for the great comments. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back next summer! The Shubie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the campground. The staff was very positive and helpful. The location cannot be beat. You can bicycle on trails and paths to downtown Dartmouth and ferry over to Halifax or ride over the bridge. The off leash dog area that is walking distance from the campground is fabulous as are the other trails and paths in the area. This is a great area for the active camper. We would definitely stay here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Holly B! Thank you for the great review. As the closest campground to downtown Halifax, we are glad you found it easy to get exactly where you wanted to go. We are so happy you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon! The Shubie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shubie Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shubie Campground

Property: Shubie Campground
Address: 30 John Brenton Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3J 3S9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > East Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dartmouth
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shubie Park Campground is the best camping in Halifax! Great sites, friendly staff, clean facilities, hiking, biking, swimming and easy access to Halifax and Dartmouth await you at Shubie Park Campground. Your perfect home to explore Metro Halifax and beyond! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shubie Campground Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing