We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful! Will Never Stay Here Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
USA/Canada
2 reviews
“Awful! Will Never Stay Here Again!”
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Super 8 in Dartmouth is ANYTHING but Super, they had the same foods for breakfast every single day we were there, and we were there 5 days! We arrived late on Thursday evening and the girl at the front desk barely paid attention to us, never checked the online reservation paperwork I had on hand and neglected to mention the security deposit required and just put it as a hold on my card. The next day I went to take a shower and there wasn't a drop of hot water to be found, not even in the sink! We complained and nothing was ever done about it, we were blown off completely by the hotel staff and the Manager! The following day we were low on cash and decided to just use my card....well guess what, they had over charged me by well over 200 bucks and I had to argue with the woman at the front desk and the Manager until they basically (after telling me I was WRONG!) admitted I was correct but they couldn't do anything about it until I checked out! All of my funds were tied up! Ridiculous! The beds were harder than rocks and to the day we checked out (complained several times and got different/conflicting stories) we never had hot water, not even to wash our hands.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs6085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    59
    43
    20
    18
See reviews for
45
61
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel about 20 years ago, when it was a long stay suite property that had one problem .... no hot water. Since then it has had a couple of renovations, and a couple of hotel chain ownership changes.

We checked in on a Thursday night, wit our problems starting on Friday with no hot water. I made the hotel staff aware of it and basically got a shrug in response. On Saturday, still no hot water and more complaints that fell on deaf ears. Sunday when I complained (as did about half the people in the hotel, I was told that the maintenamce man was working on it. Talked to the maintenance man who said the problem seems to be fixed and should have hot water. No hot water right up until we checked out on Monday. I complained to the front desk staff with no change in their attitude. I have written the Super 8 to complain and list it here in case that too falls on deaf ears. So if you don't mind cold showers, everything else is fine

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minstral60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife & I stayed here from 4-10 Apr. Our check-in was OK, although we were unable to get a room with a view of Halifax harbour. A sports team was staying in the hotel, so we preferred to avoid them (it was very quiet on our floor). Customer service was quite good with the front desk staff.

Pros: We enjoyed the free micro-fridge, free phone calls, & the rate was very good ($81). The room was very clean: housekeeping was thorough & prompt with delivery of extra blankets, etc. The free continental breakfast was pretty good: cereal (3), waffles, toast (2), fruit (2), bagels (2), yogurt (sometimes), tea biscuits (2), muffins, coffee, tea, decaf, & hot chocolate. The eating area is very spacious with plenty of tables. With the huge bay windows facing the street, it resembled a café.

The room has a very nice décor; however, there was little storage available for our clothing. The TV, micro-fridge, dresser combo unit only had 3 small drawers & there is a medium-sized rack for hanging clothes (no closet). The balcony was nice, although we wished the weather would have been better so we could have used it (it would be great in the summer). The room has a flat-screen TV, a massaging showerhead in the bathroom, & CFL bulbs throughout.

Cons: No fan in the bathroom.

Although the beds looked rather new, the mattresses were very hard. Since my wife has a herniated disc in her back, she always brings foam mattress pads on all our trips. Even with these, the bed was hard. Also, my mattress was rather short; I am only 5’9” but my feet dangled over the end of the bed.

Parking is not free: $7/day. Their underground parking is somewhat narrow so it was tricky to manoeuvre my Chevy Impala rental car through it. The driveway leading to the 2 different parking levels has some larger potholes & although there is no parking outside the doors, several cars from adjacent businesses were often parked there, making it cumbersome to get in & out of the parking garage. Parking is free on the street during the weekend, if you can find a meter.

Overall, it was a pretty good hotel. Although it had some faults, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably-priced room conveniently located in downtown Dartmouth (only 2 blocks from Alderney Landing Ferry to Halifax). With the free amenities, it is a good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My Truck was broken into...
BAD AREA.

Horrible Parking set up. You Park behind the motel in an Icy parking lot.


Great Room, Clean Comfortable, Big TV.

  • Liked — Check in was a breeze
  • Disliked — Poor Parking lot. no security
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank I_Travel_for_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Great location, large, clean and comfortable room, all necessary amenities, good breakfast, helpfull staff - and a relative low price. What else can you expect?

  • Liked — location, nice room,
  • Disliked — Charge for underground parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BEMI28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Great Location! Breakfast was included, but not a lot of choices. The room was alright, except our coffee maker was defected. It almost caught on fire, luckily we weren't in the shower, we stopped it in time. the ground on the plug was melted and jammed in the power bar. there was lots of smoke in our room.

  • Liked — close to ferrry
  • Disliked — appliance safety
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

If you value location over customer service, than the Super 8 Darthmouth would be a fine choice. Located only a two minute walk from the ferry terminal to downtown Halifax, this hotel provide a reasonable place to lay your head at a decent price.
It does lack somewhat in customer service though. They appear to be understaffed and the staff that they do have do not have the typical patience and commitment to customer care that most hotels have. Many also did not seem knowledgeable about their own special packages. We had booked a "gas and go" package which was supposed to provide us with a $20 gas card. We only received one for $10 and had to go through a bit of a hassle and a lot of explaining to the frazzled manager on duty to get the correct amount.

With that said, we had stayed here before when it was a Howard Johnsons, and there have been many aesthetic improvements, though it appears that many of the fixtures (shower, tub, door frames, etc), haven't not be renovated. The beds are comfortable and the flat screen tv, microwave, and mini fridge are all nice features.

If you're looking for a place to crash at the end of the night close to downtown without spending $200 +, this would be a great stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking is a little frightful, and the advertised 'hot' breakfast leaves a lot to be desire... how hard is it to keep the coffee urns filled?
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dartmouth Centre
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 10 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Property: Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing