We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average burgers”

Cheese Curds Gourmet Burgers + Poutinerie
Ranked #5 of 266 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Chef Inspired Gourmet Burgers & Poutinerie. “Gourmet” is about so much more than flavour. It’s about making the right choices. Our burgers and poutine are unlike anything you’ve tasted before because we stand by a number of simple principles. We make as much of our food from scratch as we can; whenever possible we support other local businesses; and we make every effort to minimize our impact on the environment. As a Nova Scotia family-run business, we offer more than incredible chef-inspired fare. We offer a completely unique gourmet experience no matter what choice you make from our menu.
Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average burgers”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came to the Windmill Road location for for lunch. We ordered the Legendary CC Porker. The burger wasn’t legendary at all, it was just ok. Half way through we realized that they forgot the bacon on both of our burgers. There wasn’t enough of their CC sauce on the burger. The bottom bun was very soggy. The burger was dry. The poutine was delicious! The meal is very expensive for a burger place over $30.00! We ordered two burgers, two drinks and we shared a poutine. I probably wouldn’t ever come back here but if I did, I would definitely try another burger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cf_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    88
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good for fast food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner. The burger was huge and the staff very helpful.

It was delicious, if not hard to handle due to the immense size.

The poutine was good too.

Make sure to come hungry!

Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will be returning”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went to Cheese Curds for the first time yesterday and it won't be long until we return.
Portion size was great, especially considering the price (30 and change for two burgers - one with fries, one sub onion rings, and 2 fountain pop) Prices runs about the same at any of the other "gourmet" burger places in town but Cheese Curd's quality is much, much better.
I had the triple mushroom and my boyfriend had the classic porker (?) that had two patties.
We were really pleased that you got to add all condiments and toppings after it is cooked and sitting in front of you, as opposed to having to choose your toppings before you pay (everything included in the price, as opposed to another burger place that charges different prices for certain toppings - give me a break).
Didn't have the "yucky" feeling after eating that I have experienced at other burger places time and time again.
Can't wait to go back!
Only tip would be to avoid going in large groups or at what would be a peak time, seating is very limited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mj816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Got their act together”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very well run, organized, and a thought out game plan.
Food is very good with lots of options.
The Windmill location is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fried food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We go get a treat at this restaurant once in a while as it is fried food! Service is excellent! For junk food it is very good. I find it to be a little over priced for 2 burgers 1 sm onion ring 1 small fry No beverage almost 30.00 dollars. Once again it is a treat and worth it to try as it is good junk food!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Curds Gourmet Burgers + Poutinerie also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Cheese Curds Gourmet Burgers + Poutinerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing