We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails, always good food and service.”
Review of Jack Astor's

Jack Astor's
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack Astor's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 264 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dartmouth Centre
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Never fails, always good food and service.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had lunch with a client, as usual very consistent food and great service.
I have been here many times and it is always great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    68
    48
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BAD Service, good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were seated right away as the restaurant was not busy, had our drink orders taken and delivered, ordered our food, and proceeded to wait...and wait...and wait...after 30 minutes of not being able to flag our server (and seeing tables that were seated after us get their food, finish, and leave) we were finally approached by the manager (I think), he apologized, didn't know what had happened except that maybe our food had been delivered to another table, then promised to take care of us and said our food would be out probably in 3-4 minutes. 10-12 minutes later our food arrived, the food was hot and tasted very good. True to his word, the manager took care of us. Usually a good restaurant, this situation was possibly a fluke, but wanted to pass our experience along.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time there!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first time at Jack Astor's, we really enjoyed it. Our waitress was excellent, she explained the items on menu and offered suggestions and answered all of our questions. Nice restaurant and atmosphere. We would definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutecapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Excellent service, atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my first time to a Jack Astors.

I wouldn't say that your going to walk away 'stuffed' from your 13-14$ meal, but the service is fab, the place is clean, the décor is interesting, and the atmosphere is superb !

Our waitress (Holly) was excellent, there was no waiting / asking for anything ... she was on the ball !

I'd certainly go back ... maybe to try the yummy club house that everybody else had !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FundyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a burger and a beer.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This seems like your normal run of the mill chain restaurant when you first arrive, but I have to say the food here is amazing. One of the best burgers I've had,
The beer is cold, the servers are on top of things and price is reasonable. Will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sova888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Astor's also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Jack Astor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing