We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here twice, once at the beginning of our trip and once again at the end.

It is a pretty basic hotel, but the rooms are very nice and clean. All the staff, from the desk clerks to the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. I was going to complain that the air conditioner didn't work very well, but it turns out it was my brain that was not functioning well. I had it set so only the fan was on, not the air conditioning. When I had a closer look the next day, I turned it on properly and it worked very well.

We stayed on the first floor the first time and the wifi worked very well. The second time we were on the third floor and the signal was poor. I could get my tablet to connect at the table near the door, but not laying in bed.

They have laundry facilities available, which we made use of.

The location is very good to go to other sights like Peggy's Cove, or across the harbour to the Halifax pier.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must have wifi service, avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a large, clean room including a comfortable bed, extra couch, armchair and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove, dishes,utensils, dish detergent and even tea towels, in a very convenient location. The bathroom is a good size and there are laundry facilities in the basement. The bridge to Halifax is minutes away, allowing you to escape the higher prices down town. The staff at the front desk are very polite and helpful, the continental breakfast, included with the price of the room, is very good. The Wi Fi worked great for us. When we arrived home after a busy day in Halifax, it was always to a clean room and lots of space to relax. Best of all....The Price is Right!....come on down!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not much on extras, but the breakfast was tasty and the beds are clean and comfortable. A good base of operations for exploring the rest of the area. There's a fantastic pizza place about a block over, and access to the rest of Dartmouth/Halifax is easy and quick by car. The in-room wireless was kinda shifty on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in after 10pm and got to the Coastal Inn around 11pm. The gentleman at the desk seemed anxious to help us plan the next day's activities. It is not the newest or shiniest hotel but it is clean and the service is beyond compare. The rooms are spacious and the curtains darken the room (excellent for adjusting to the time zone shift). Every single person we encountered there provided excellent and willing service. I thought I had lost my camera and three people at once all assisted in the search. The price is right, the service is great. A great place to get oriented to a new city. We stayed four days at the beginning of our trip and returned to spend two more at the end...it was like coming back to friends.

ps we looked behind furniture to look for the missing camera....the room was clean even in hidden places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

/We stayed at the Coastal Inn in Dartmouth in August 2013. The were very helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in a more industrial area but was very clean and well presented. The rooms were large and had a small kitchen area with frig, stove, microwave and dishes with a table and chairs for eating. The location was close to the ferry terminal which provides quick access to downtown Halifax. Breakfast was included and provided a wide assortment of cereals, breads, muffins, fruit etc. We would definitely recommend it and come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay was made better by the staff at the front desk, very helpful, the property is older, but it is evident that upgrades are being done, we found the room large and clean, the hotel is in an older part of the city, near the docks, not a great view from the rooms. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The pictures of the rooms are not accurate. We have stayed multiple times and each time was worse then the last. The rooms are outdated yes but for the price we paid that would be expected. The first time we stayed the smell of must was overpowering when checking in. The other times we stayed all you could smell was cigarette smoke. There were cigarette holes in the blanket and pubic hair in the bathroom. You can't sit up in bed to watch tv or read because there are huge lamps attached to the headboard. The good parts of the hotel were that the customer service was good and there was parking available.

Room Tip: Ground floor is non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlysue2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
2.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
4.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Property: Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Address: 379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing