We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Reviewed September 1, 2013

/We stayed at the Coastal Inn in Dartmouth in August 2013. The were very helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in a more industrial area but was very clean and well presented. The rooms were large and had a small kitchen area with frig, stove, microwave and dishes with a table and chairs for eating. The location was close to the ferry terminal which provides quick access to downtown Halifax. Breakfast was included and provided a wide assortment of cereals, breads, muffins, fruit etc. We would definitely recommend it and come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpea945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay was made better by the staff at the front desk, very helpful, the property is older, but it is evident that upgrades are being done, we found the room large and clean, the hotel is in an older part of the city, near the docks, not a great view from the rooms. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The pictures of the rooms are not accurate. We have stayed multiple times and each time was worse then the last. The rooms are outdated yes but for the price we paid that would be expected. The first time we stayed the smell of must was overpowering when checking in. The other times we stayed all you could smell was cigarette smoke. There were cigarette holes in the blanket and pubic hair in the bathroom. You can't sit up in bed to watch tv or read because there are huge lamps attached to the headboard. The good parts of the hotel were that the customer service was good and there was parking available.

Room Tip: Ground floor is non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlysue2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked the coastal inn through a third party website, and after checking out the site, wasn't sure what I got myself into! But it ended up being a pleasant place to stay. You can't let the old decor deter you. The staff was friendly and the rooms were perfectly fine. I enjoyed having the kitchenette in the room so you have the option to cook instead of always eating out. Breakfast was basic but good enough. Great value for as low price among hotel rooms that seem to keep getting higher!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Coastal Inn Dartmouth across the bay from Downtown Halifax is a very cost effective alternative to staying in Halifax itself.

It is also very handy to the cross bay ferry (only $2.25 per adult one way and a 12 minute trip) to Halifax waterfront which basically deposits you in the centre of town.

There are eateries on the Dartmouth side that are reasonably handy and a good Irish pub just across from the Dartmouth ferry terminal. Also close to the cross bay bridges (car toll $1 one way).

Laundry facilities also available and a fairly good self service breakfast in the breakfast bar (open from 6 to 10 am) each morning.

Rooms are great too (and l probably should disclose that we were upgraded to a King bed room at no extra cost) so l have good reason to give a good review.

Even had cooking facilities and a fridge in room (don't know if theses facilities are standard).

Cannot fault the Coastal Inn. Well worth the stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark_S255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is about 25 years old but has been updated and is comfortable. Located on Windmill road close to the bridges you can reach anywhere in Metro in 15 minutes. The continental breakfast is adequate.

Room Tip: 3d floor-there's an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

While this wasn't our first choice when we started looking for places to stay in Dartmouth, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel and our room. We ended up with a suite on the 3rd floor which had two rooms (a living area) and a bedroom area. We felt the cost was reasonable. Our room had a little kitchenette with fridge, stove and microwave. This would probably be a good home base for someone staying in Dartmouth/Halifax for a bit longer periods of time as you can store and prepare your own food in your room. The suite does have a foldway bed in the couch, but it wasn't comfortable (are they ever?). The fixtures and appliances were a bit dated, but functional and in good shape. The continental breakfast was sufficient, with cereals, toast, bagels, coffee, tea, juices, milk, and fruit. There is a sit down breakfast area which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunburyTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Address: 379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing