We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standard accommodation, but at a high-end price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good standard accommodation, but at a high-end price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed here in June 2007 for business. Found it to be just fine; clean, quiet, and largely friendly staff; but overall I think it is overpriced when compared to other hotels in the area.

This hotel is located in a business park in a commercial area of Dartmouth -- a minimum 15-20 minute drive to the tourist spots in Halifax. It doesn't therefore have a lot going for it in terms of ambience or proximity to cafes, restaurants, shopping, or points of interest. Parking, however, is free.

Found the room to be clean and comfortable, but the fixtures were starting to look a little tired. In-room coffee maker was available, plus standard hairdryer and basic iron. Clock-radio available, but 80s vintage. Complimentary soap, shampoo/conditioner, and bodywash were available, but in self-dispensing containers. (This is probably far better for the environment than those little bottles, but you'll have no opportunity to restock your overnight bag!) Rooms also had basic cable TV and wireless internet. No DSL cable ports; but wireless bridges could be rented for $10/day. Overall, though, the general sense was no-frills. For example, the local newspaper was delivered to the door, but at a $0.44 charge which you could decline by calling the front desk. A bit cheap, I thought, for rooms starting at $130. Heard the gym was great, though. : )

Only went to the restaurant once, for breakfast; buffet was satisfactory with quite a lot of choice, although service was sparse. It took a while to get seated, and no one actually ever came to took our order. We were eventually offered a coffee refill almost at the same time as the bill. The bar is small, but the barkeep (Pam) was just excellent -- very attentive and warm without being overbearing.

In general, nothing wrong with the stay, but this hotel doesn't really deliver the amenities or experience one might expect for the rate charged.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, good shower pressure (!), friendly barkeep, free parking.
  • Disliked — A bit overpriced relative to other hotels in the area.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    116
    56
    35
    25
See reviews for
113
86
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

When i stayed in the ramada in dartmouh ,it was not only luxurious but also had excellent service with the staff. They're pool is ok but there slide above the pool is mind boggling,if you have kids in their youthful age,they will be most satisfied here. They're breakfast buffet is nothing but quality taste and for the cost, you cannot compare it anywhere else.

If your staying in the halifax/dartmouth area, you must stay here and try it, you will get hooked! ps-close to the micmac mall and halifax shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

I stayed during march break and was very disappointed in this hotel. The rooms were very run down, bedspreads faded, stained rugs, broken tiles in bathroom, very worn furniture, telephone did not work in the morning and my door knob was broken to the bathroom. We checked in at 3:00pm, which is the posted check in time, and was told our room wasn't quite ready but it would be ready in a few minutes. It wasn't ready until 5:00pm. There was clumps of hair floating in the pool in the morning and they didn't clean it out until later that day! When we checked out we told them politely that we were disappointed with our room and they said sorry and basically ignored us. We paid $129 for our room a night which is a fairly decent rate for a "four star" hotel but having stayed in many hotels, I would only rate this hotel maybe a 2 1/2 star. The kids did enjoy the waterslide but even that needs some upgrades. I think it's time they did some major renovations to this hotel and I will not be back until they do.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2006

It was the best hotel for my family.The staff was frendly and the pool was great for my kids. My kids loved the water slide that was a real bonus.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2005

I have stayed at many of the hotels in the Halifax/Dartmouth area. This is one hotel that I wont be returning. We were booked in a 1 bedroom suite for 2 nights, after the first night we moved to another hotel.

As always it is exciting to walk into your room for the first time but we were very disappointed. The suite was very outdated, not alot of upkeep, both double beds in the bedroom were sunk in the middle, the bathroom had wall mounted soap/shampoo dispensers and overall just the feeling of being dirty.

We were very excited about the indoor pool/slide for the kids...they loved it but being 5 & 4 yrs they were not aware of the scum and floaties in the pool......one of the dirtiest pools I have ever been in.

Now dont get me wrong, Im not one of those people you cant please, I love mini-vacations in hotels and I have never written a negative report on here before. I did stay here about 12 years ago and loved it, but I dont think anything has been changed or updated since then.

Oh, one more thing...the restaurant was good, staff was nice.

Helpful?
5 Thank murcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2004

I would highly recommend this place for someone to stay at.

Friendly staff, great rooms at a fair price.
As a added bonus, our kids loved their pool and waterslide. It's close to freeway to get around city quickly.

We stayed there the night before leaving to fly home. It's reasonably close to the airport and the waterslide is a great place for kids to burn energy before a flight.

Wonderful facility!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1.8 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place

Property: Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place
Address: 240 Brownlow Ave, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
#4 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Place Hotel & Conference Centre, Ramada Plaza is a four star property renowned for its five star service, friendly, welcoming staff and a location that puts you where you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dartmouth
Dartmouth Ramada
Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing