We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“horrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

Where should I begin? The rude front desk clerk who refused to change our give us a quieter room or show sympathy when only smoking rooms were available? The rooms were so smokey and loud! You could hear everything in the hallways. And the hotel is dirty and needs a top to bottom renovation. The computer in the front lobby did not work. There was nothing to do in the area. it is in a business park. It is one of those hotels where you want to immediately rip off the bedspread because who knows what kind of bacteria is growing on it. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    116
    56
    35
    25
See reviews for
113
86
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

Our stay was most enjoyable - location was excellent and easy to find. Everyone that we were in contact with were polite and helpful in every way. Our room was just beautiful and most comfortable. My husband and I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYGma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Valley
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Our overnight stay was a most enjoyable experience. The room was large and well-appointed; good quality fixtures and very clean. We really appreciated having TWO armchairs, and windows that open! There was a good sized counter in the bathroom, but the lighting could have been brighter. The bar staff was very friendly. Although we didn't use it, the children seemed to really enjoy the waterslide, and the pool looked very clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Stayed one night in a King suite with the wife and 4yr old and 7 month old daughters.
The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the room was large and clean.
The indoor lap pool and large waterslide were a big hit with the kids.
Checkout was easy.
The location is ideal as the bridge to Halifax and the highway into Dartmouth are close by, and there is a road connecting to the Dartmouth Crossing shopping complex just up the street.
An all-round great stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — Only 20 channels on the TV
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcuraF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PE
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

Family of 4 stayed here for two nights in mid-December, 2007. Let me start by saying, to be fair, the nights we stayed were over a weekend when the Christmas Parties were in full swing. We knew there could be some issues as a result.

Upon arrival, we were given a room at the end of one ofthe wings on the ground floor, with the assurance from the front desk that this was the quietest spot to be. Unfortunately, an hour after our arrivel we found out the hard way that there was a Christmas Party/Dance going on in the basement meeting room directly under ours. Could hear every word of every song.

Went to the front desk and we were promptly moved to the 4th floor. Once there, everything was fine. The hotel was quiet even with the parties. The pool/waterslide/hottub was a big hit with my boys (the hotel even has a staff member present in the pool area at all times for safety). Buffet breakfast in the dining room, was very good and the service was fantastic!

For a family break with the kids, the pool area defintiley puts this property above most in the area.

  • Liked — pool/waterslide
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichA252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

The only reason why I stayed there to begin with was because my company was holding a party there and people who attended were given a bit of a discount on rooms that night.

Anyway even though I gave them my credit card number to book my room, once we arrived to check in I was still required to give them a $50 cash damage deposit. The staff there is quite age biased. Im in my mid 20's and friends of mine who also booked a room that night who are in their early 30's were NOT required to give them a damage deposit (I found this out the next day).

The room-
We were given the room right off the elevator, which was horrible because its such a high traffic area with much more noise.
The room at first glance was ok. It really needed some updating though. And the bathroom was dirty with various types of hairs on the floor from the previous people who stayed there.
The beds and pillows were hard as rocks. I think I only got about an hour and a half of sleep that night.
And at 5:30am I hear a phone ringing and it was coming from the room next to ours!! I could hear the man's entire conversation, like he was standing right next to me in my room. He then proceeded to grab a shower and pack up his things.

Their walls a paper thin!!!!!!!! I could hear everything!
Why would the staff put the people from the party on the same floor and right next to business people who have to get up early in the morning?! It wasnt very smart on their part.
The company Im with had their anual party at the nearby Holiday Inn one year and the staff there was fantastic! They booked everyone from the party on their own floor and gave us all better rooms with balconies.
The Ramada could have done the same. The person who I talked to on the phone about the reservation told me that there were many rooms available and that the hotel was quite empty during the time we wanted to stay there.

Anyway the pool was also not in service during the time we were there, which was a little let down.
The staff wasnt overly friendly either. I also got short changed about $7 but didnt notice it at the time ( probably due to my horrible sleep the past night).
Bottom line; I will never stay there ever again! I cant imagine paying the regular price they ask for such crapy accomodations.

This year the company Im with has booked the Ramada again for their anual work party and I can assure you that I will be booking a hotel somewhere else, maybe the Prince George or the Delta Halifax!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

We arrived at the Ramada expecting to find a room with a King size bed, we were given a room with a double bed that pulled out of the wall. When we asked at the desk we were told it was because we had booked through Expedia and we had to take what they had left. (I had booked 5 days earlier. I have NEVER had a problem before booking through Expedia...
Then there was "elevator music" playing outside our room all night-more than a little annoying. In the morning I discovered the hair dryer didn't work. By then I was beyond complaining...I just wanted out of there.
Will not be back for a very long time!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1.8 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place

Property: Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place
Address: 240 Brownlow Ave, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
#4 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Place Hotel & Conference Centre, Ramada Plaza is a four star property renowned for its five star service, friendly, welcoming staff and a location that puts you where you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dartmouth
Dartmouth Ramada
Ramada Plaza Dartmouth Park Place Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing