We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of room at the Inn at Christmas :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of room at the Inn at Christmas :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Harbour View Holiday Inn during Christmas 2013 - Christmas Eve I made the booking at the last minute and wondered if I'd be able to get a room. When we checked in, we found we were the only guests at the hotel that night! We had the place to ourselves.
The staff were very very nice, friendly, helpful during our stay - they were glad to have us there and it actually showed. In the mornings there was a buffet as the restaurant, not surprisingly, was closed - we had all the coffee, juice, bagels, muffins we could eat.
There was a nice little fitness room with great showers right across from our room, so we availed ourselves of the showers as they had lots more room than the rather small bathtub shower in the room. We didn't use the fitness centre as we ran outdoors on Christmas Day and Boxing Day - the hotel is right next to the MacDonald Bridge between Dartmouth and Halifax, so we ran across it, along funky Brunswick Street on a quiet snowy Christmas morning, and then to the Clock Tower and Citadel. Great Christmas Day run - but you won't be able to do it for next 1.5 years as they are doing repairs to the bridge and pedestrians and bicyclists will not be allowed.
Boxing Day we went the other direction to Lake Banook - the centre of east-coast paddling sports in Canada. Great running/walking along here too leading into Shubenacadie Park.
The hotel is well situated, but is a bit of a hoof to get to the ferry to Halifax - a short taxi ride though. Not much for restaurants/nightlife in the immediate area - just McDonalds, Subway, Wendys, and so on.
Overall - we enjoyed our time at the hotel and our main "plus" was the very friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are basic hotel room fare, but comfy and - for us - very quiet!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
It is very gratifying for the team to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the hospitality at the Holiday Inn Harbourview. AVeitch, it truly sounds like you had an amazing stay here and I'm glad we were able to contribute to that.
Thank you for all of your wonderful comments and we hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    106
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
113
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Attended a meeting in December. The facilities were perfect. Service was polite, professional and resourceful. Food was excellent. The room was very clean, employees were very nice. I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MTLEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you oh so much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Friendly staff, very clean room and facility. They treat you like a family owned hotel. Rooms with harbor view, restaurant with excellent seafood menu ( No wonder in Nova Scotia), bar with couple of draft beers and most important thing again, I can't say enough of how friendly they were.

Room Tip: Go for harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
It truly was a pleasure for us to read your review and we feel as if you summed up our property perfectly. AliRast it would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After going to check in and check out of the delta barrington due to poor service we choose to go to the holiday inn and all i can say is that on arrival the staff here were absolutely amazing as they went out of their way to be helpful,understanding,courteous,and just all around excellent

this hotel is one i would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ-PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear MJ, Thank you for your kind comments. All of our Guest Services staff are truly valued members of our team and we are delighted to hear that your stay was made that much more enjoyable as a result of their commitment to service. We hope to see you back soon when you travel to Dartmouth and again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The signage from a distance is easy to see, but when you finally get into the parking lot, it is hard to tell the hotel entrance since the hotel shares an entrance with another building. Once inside, the front desk is rather apparent. We were given a room with a very nice view of the harbor. However, our A/C unit froze up. Once we notified the front desk, it took almost an hour to get a response to address the issue. We were moved to another room, but that room also had A/C problems. By this time, it was 11:30pm, and we were not going to move again. So we put the unit on "fan" to bring in air from the outside. A group of high school students also checked into the hotel rather late. Some of the rowdy ones were in the room above ours. I believe they had a stomping contest that went on for about an hour. I wish hotels would learn to put "youthful" guests on the lowest floors and save the upper floors for more "mature" guests. All in all, it was a rather rough night. I believe the hotel needs to give attention to their failing HVAC units. The fitness center has three pieces of equipment, some of which can also use some servicing. The location is very close to the waterfront, but the hotel can better capitalise on their location by performing some basic maintenance upgrades. The restaurant was a much better experience than the sleeping room. The seafood chowder is some of the best around. Also, the salad and sandwich special was very tasty. And the restaurant prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noisy "upstairs neighbors".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear williaca,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is pleasing to know that the food served during your visit met your liking and you enjoyed the view from our rooms. However, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning system and gym facility. Your comments shall be used for upgrades needed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is similarly priced to others in the neighborhood, but comes with a full breakfast.

We arrived on a night where the hotel was fully booked, and received a very dated room that smelt strongly of smoke, had a leaking toilet, and very, very soft beds. We requested a new room, but were told we would have to wait until something became available the next afternoon. Our new room was much better, and more in keeping with the standard we have come to expect from a Holiday Inn.

The best part of our stay had to be the breakfast. Service was slow on days where the restaurant was even marginally busy, but the servers were always very nice. The breakfast options included a buffet, or a number of items ordered off of a promotional menu. My Father chose the buffet each day, and found a number of appealing options. On Day 1, I chose the waffle and was disappointed. The waffle was luke warm and tasted like a toaster waffle. On every other day i selected the best for value breakfast, and was surprised by the very large portion.

A picture of the menu is included below for anyone that cares to see it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s24835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear s24835,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

In addition to the tour group stay, I stayed for one night on my own. I didn't think that staff at reception were all that "friendly," but the staff at the bar and restaurant for dinner were above average.

The front desk failed to give me my buffet breakfast voucher, and the guy was ready to throw me out, but the bus driver our our group had an extra voucher. I was there only to have coffee. The least he could have done was to tell me how much it would cost for breakfast off the menu.

I travel extensively (7 trips last year, my 5th trip this year), and I was never treated that badly!

The bad experience was intolerable for a service organization.

Tak Nomura, Sunnyvale, CA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicerone_imposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at our hotel. Obviously the experience you have described is not the level of service we expect from our service team and allow me to personally apologize for the service you received both from our front desk and restaurant service members. This is not a typical experience for our guests, and it alarms me to see how you were treated. We take matters such as the experience you described very seriously and use them to educate our staff to be more attentive and understanding to every guest’s situations. Please know we have brought your review to the attention of our team and we will continue to place better emphasis ensuring our guests will continue to be elated by our service team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. I hope in the future, you would reconsider us as a destination of choice and allow us an opportunity to leave you with a proper first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dartmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing