We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and pretty good rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and pretty good rate”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview hotel for four nights. The hotel entrance (entry) was being worked on but inside the lobby was very nice and clean and the front desk staff were very welcoming. Our room was a good size and included a king size bed, two nightstands, desk, chair, ottoman, small fridge and flat screen tv. The room including bath were immaculate. The cleaning lady was very friendly and stocked the room daily with clean towels. The business center looked new and consisted of two computers and two printers. The gym was also of good quality. The parking lot is very large and the spaces closer to the hotel fill up quite quickly in the early evening. We had the buffet breakfast for two mornings (basic, but nice) but found it a little pricey at $15 a head + tax. We felt very comfortable staying at the Holiday Inn and slept very well as the bed and pillows were exceptional. All was good and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor overlooking the toll booth of Mac Donald Bridge. The room was quiet and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking this opportunity to share your experience with us with other travellers. As you indicated, we have made some upgrades to our guest rooms including 32" LCD TV's and complimentary wireless internet in all our rooms with the options to upgrade your internet speed.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    106
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
113
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's a typical chain hotel located just across the bridge in Dartmouth. The lobby looked to be newly renovated but not the rooms themselves. But it was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly so it suited our needs fine. A good reason to choose this location is that it is right across the bridge from Halifax and they have free parking at the hotel. So if you're visiting the city and want to save a few bucks, this is a nice option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the oppotunity to share your experience at our hotel with your fellow travellers. We always enjoy hearing about our guests positive experiences. Although our guest parking is not complimentary, it is available for a very reasonable fee. Although we do often have groups or conventions where you are staying under a special rate which has it included.

We look forward to the next time you come to stay with us on your next visit to Halifax.

Thank you again from all of us at the Holiday Inn Harbourview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The most impressive part of this hotel was the lobby as it has been the only part of the hotel updated in years. A front desk staff member (female) was very rude to adults and children. The cleaning staff did not do an extensive clense of the room we stayed in. I found a bra, behind a chair, which I can only assume belonged to the previous guest...or the guest previous to that guest... The chair was not up against a wall and not difficult to move.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammymacisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Holiday Inn Harbourview and its’ team for your stay. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so we can take appropriate steps to correct them. The guest service and level of cleaning were clearly not in keeping with the high standards we strive to maintain and exceed. We are committed to your satisfaction, and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to make it right.

We do hope we will be given the opportunity to serve you once again and to show you we can do better. We also hope your confidence in the Holiday Inn Harbourview will be restored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dartmouth hotels

Newmarket, On
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rooms are clean and adequate. As in a previous stay, I find the dining room menu lacking choice, and the staff that remain from years ago have little to no personality. $14 bucks for a glass of Merlot is also pricey for Dartmouth.

Room Tip: Get a Harbour view room on upper floors, great balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, I am happy to see that you find our guest rooms clean and adequate.

However I am disappointed that you feel our Cafe 101 menu is lacking choice, we have done several changes in our restaurant over the last year and a large part of those changes have been menu driven in order to attract more business. We have reduced prices and made dishes that appeal to our guests according to feedback received. Please feel free to email me directly if you would like us to consider any of your favourite foods for our menu.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just had our christmas party at this location. This property was renovated a couple of years ago and it shows. We had a fabulous time . Service was great and the meal was awesome. The room was very clean and the king size bed was to die for . This was our best christmas dance ever and the venue contributed to this greatly. Can wait until next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers. We look forward to hosting you at next years holiday party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I just finished a 4 day business trip at this hotel and I thought that I'd pass along my thoughts as I sifted through the first 10 pages of reviews when I first arrived. My background: I am on the road 1-2 times a month with work or pleasure, so I visit quite a few different hotels. I have grown quite fond of the Holiday Inn Express line of hotels that seem to be cropping up everywhere in Canada/US. Many of them are new, most have free parking, wi-fi and an indoor pool, which I really like. My thoughts on this one are as follows:

The Property: pretty good location, but not the best. Kind of sketchy neighbourhood. I took the ferry and the bridge across to Halifax on foot. Both provided some decent exercise. Speaking of which, my package included passess to th recreation center across the street; which has a big gym, racquet sports and a big pool. That place has facilities that feel a little dated, but they offer allot - worth checking out. I needed to request a day pass at the front desk for each day that I wanted to go. Fairly good amenities in the area - like fast food, groceries, gas. The hotel itself looks pretty nice, on the outside. The lobby is also very nice. Parking was included in my package.Overall 3.5/5.

The room: although amenities and housekeeping were excellent, the LCD screen was nice, although the wi-fi was great and the room view was excellent (I had to specifically ASK for a harbour view, otherwise, they had me on the other side), even after all of those positives, the room felt dated. The carpet and the wallpaper seemed old, the shower/tub felt cramped and the bath and sink being in two different rooms served no purpose for me personally. In fact, it felt a little annoying. The worst part of my room was the fact that I could hear everything (use your imagination... everything) next door and hallway noise was heard as well. Luckily, there wasn't anything to complain about as everyone seemed to retire at a decent hour. Overall 3/5

The Breakfast at Pub 101. My package included 4 free breakfasts at the restaurant on the main floor. The front desk gave me passes when I checked in. Expected was a buffet every morning; which occurred every day but one. The second day, the breakfast was from their menu; which was adequate, but I certainly preferred the buffet. The buffet is a great value. The restaurant was not very busy. The staff was very attentive to my needs and very professional. The food was very good. Fresh fruit bowl was my favorite. They gave me a small pot of coffee along with a cup and lid to go. I didn't eat at the restaurant for anything other than breakfast, so I can't comment on anything else. I did have soup and sandwich at the mini-cafeteria which is located in the attached office building. It was nothing special, but decent enough (located near the front desk entrance of hotel). Breakfast = 4.5/5.

Overall my rating of this hotel is a solid 4 out of 5. I would probably return, need be.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and I am happy you enjoyed your time with us. We continue to update our property and have made some great strides to further improve and serve the needs of our guests; the LCD televisions and complimentary wireless internet that you mentioned being two of our more recent additions. Our location provides us with a unique opportunity to offer our guests the conveniences awarded with being close to facilities like the Dartmouth Sportsplex and ease of access to the culturally rich Halifax Waterfront through the Halifax Ferry terminal just a short walk away.

It’s great to hear of our guests having enjoyed the services we provide. I agree; the breakfast buffet is an excellent offering; coupled with our warm and welcoming service team, Café 101 provides a great dining experience within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Halifax area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice menu and well presented dishes. Service was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere is typical for a hotel chain and a little dark and drabby. Appetizers were great but entree was okay. Not priced too high. Parking may be in issue if out on a busier night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KR_Packwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am happy to see you enjoyed your dinning experience at Cafe 101, we have phi-nominal servers and a wonderfully talented culinary team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing