We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and efficient staff...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The staff at the front desk (most) are extremely friendly and helpful...the room was very comfortable and clean. My only real complaint would be the lack of vegetarian foods on the menu. They had a lovely cous cous meal one day, next day it was off the menu. The chef did one time make me a really good veggie wrap...when i went to eat lunch there again cuple of days later, found the menu had even less choice for veg. I asked the waiter why they kept changing the menu or why they'd not give at least 3 choices, he's like, oh how about the spring rolls?" Who eats springrolls for lunch? and not to mention they're deep fried. So my suggestion would be try to get some veggie options. It's not really fair there aren't any, or one only....esp if the weather's bad and you don't want to go out...other than that, very comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    105
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
112
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

It is an impressive looking property located right by the bridge toll booths and if you get a high enough floor your view of Halifax harbour is excellent. Parking is free and the front desk staff is very welcoming and friendly and look very professional. The lobby is very impressive...most stylish.
Our room was quite nice ....very clean and comfortable beds with special pillow indicators for firm and soft. The balcony off our room reminded me of being at an apartment....you can see a lovely pool off in the distance ....lots of grass and shrubs. I feel it is a well maintained older property that has charm for sure.
My only complaint is the bathroom. As mentioned in previous reviews, the toilet and tub are in one room....a very small room and the toilet is far from new...very far,( it uses a lot of water when it flushes) as is the tub. Although I feel that the toilet and bathtub had been cleaned, it is hard to spruce up something so old. The sink is across the way with a coat rack behind it.....a very small vanity area that could use an additional shelf. The hair dryer is also very old....all very cramped.
The restaurant however made me forget about the bathroom......it was so wonderful....the food, the staff....the way they were with children....so pleasant and fun-loving. I had a delicious Mediterranean lobster pasta dish. The service was very prompt on our visit. All in all, it was a very good stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor higher than 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

From the moment we checked in, every single staff person was SO helpful and friendly. It was a complete reverse of how we had been treated in our hotel in another city the days before this. We found everything we wanted right there! We had a room on the 7th floor which had a balcony with a great view of the harbour, fridge, microwave, robes, slippers, free wifi, wine glasses, coffeemaker, and of course a lovely bed with the pillows labelled as to firmness. We wanted a cup of tea as it was around 11 p.m. when we checked in so that room service etc was over and a staff person brought us a butler of hot water right away. We were made to feel so welcome and that we could ask for anything. Even though they don't say they provide a needle and thread, a staff member checked everywhere for us, in case one could be found, even though she was very busy, she didn't make me feel like I was a nuisance. There was also a coin laundry there, which we needed after travelling for a week. no problem getting change at the front desk for the washers/dryers. Soap on sale in the laundry room too. The outdoor pool looked so inviting, but we didn't have time to use it as we were busy touring the area. There was a grocery store and liquor store across the way, also a drug store and other amenities. It was about a ten min. walk to the ferry across the harbour to downtown Halifax. We never needed a taxi, just a shuttle from the airport. The cafe on site served an excellent breakfast and I recently found out the chef comes highly recommended. I wish we had been there longer so we could try the seafood there!

Room Tip: executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

the room was small for the price and the view of the harbour was not that great..had to request a fridge for the room....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain092
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Holiday Inn Dartmouth has a spectacular location overlooking the Halifax harbor. What we noticed immediately at the property was how "service-orientated" all the staff members were. The housekeepers said good morning to you when you passed them in the halls and the wait staff in the restaurant/bar thanked-you by name when you charged the bill to your guest room. The King size bed was extremely comfortable and we absolutely enjoyed the terrace overlooking the outdoor pool. We discovered that there is a ferry located blocks away from the hotel in Dartmouth that will shuttle you downtown Halifax for $2.25! This was a way better experience and more affordable than taking a taxi. Food in the restaurant was incredible, I do not always like to eat in the hotel, but you will want to include a few meals in the Bistro here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We just came back from the place and it was clean and had all things we needed to stay a few days in the Halifax area and enjoy the city. It was easy to get to Halifax waterfront by taking a ferry which was about 15 minute walk from the hotel.
The restaurant turned out to be a disappointment as even though the food is interesting, the service is slow. We walked in with hungry kids and had to wait 10 minutes before we were greeted and given menus. We asked for kids meals, which were burgers with fries and some appetizers for ourselves, noting that we were hungry and wanted first food to appear as soon as possible. We then had to wait another 30 minutes for the appetizers and kids meals to come.
The food was good, but you know how it is like to sit at the table hungry and try to assure kids that our food is just around the corner. The place was seriously understaffed as the only 3 people there were manning 8 occupied tables, the bar and making room service deliveries. They basically had no time to serve everyone. I have brought it to the attention of the manager on duty and here response was "sorry it took you a little longer". I will let you to decide is 40 minutes from entering to first food on the table is little or not.
A day after we decided to give them another chance with breakfast and, again, the service was slow and we sat there for 20 minutes before getting the food. The bottom line- not a place to eat if you value your time and a prompt service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeAreFromVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Enjoyed our one night stay for Canada Day and the Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo. Booked through Priceline. Great location within short walk of the Dartmouth-Halifax passenger ferry. Room was fine. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing