We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Etobicoke, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY nice hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on July 1st and 2nd. We really enjoyed it here. It is in a GREAT location. $15.00 cab fare to Halifax harbour. Hugo's bar across the street is a nice bar to visit for a night cap when coming back from a night on the town in Halifax. We will definaley stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and are glad to hear that you will be staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
43
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It was immaculate and breakfast was until 10:00AM. 10:00AM is very important for people who work all year and part of their vacation is getting to sleep a little later.
Our room was cleaned early in the day so when we returned from touring, we were not greeted with an unmade bed in the late afternoon. It was centrally located and easy for us to tour Halifax and Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: It does not have a restaurant or swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is an average hotel where you go to when you need a place to stay. The rooms are fine: clean and large with a sitting area, including sofa and desk, and a queen bed. A/C included as well. You only miss the mini bar/fridge. The bathroom has a shower instead of a bath tub.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast they serve is quite plain but good. However, you have to eat from paper plates and usea plastic knife and fork. That's not very charming. The also don't have a restaurant so the breakfast buffet is situated in the lobby and a nearby hotelroom is cleared so you can eat your breakfast there.
The hotel is located near the highway, but the surrounding area isn't that much. If you want to do something in the evening, you have to take a car to Halifax or take the ferry from Dartmouth to Halifax. So, if you do not mind the location and eat breakfast from paper plates, you get a hotel with fair rates and all the basic services you need. Don't expect thinghs like a sauna or swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of the hotel. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times and always have great service and pleasant staff. Rooms are very clean and they don't charge for our dog. Nice continental breakfast. Convenient location for all our needs. I recommend this hotel as every stay has been great. Headed there tomorrow night

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrybbalcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. It sounds as if you had a very enjoyable stay. I look forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is your typical room with a typical breakfast. We selected it based totally on its location to Halifax and its proximity to the bus and ferry.


We heard that parking in Halifax was expensive and that we could stay in Dartmouth and take the ferry across so decided to give it a whirl. We caught the bus less than a block from the hotel, transfered to another that took us to the ferry and had a pleasant trip over to Halifax. Much less expensive and a lot more adventure. Don't forget to ask for transfers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete this review. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked 5 rooms as a sports team-each room had one bed and a pull out sofa. Rooms were average. Each sofa and the cots were terrible to sleep on - springs sticking out everywhere. The rooms were dated but very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the generic continental breakfast with staff constantly replenishing it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall, this hotel is clean and comfortable; certainly adequate for a short stay. The non-stick surface in the bathtub was discolored from wear and needed replacement, and the carpet was a bit tired, and I've certainly had more comfortable mattresses. The included breakfast was very good, and there are several options for meals nearby. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#9 of 11 in Dartmouth
61 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
2.4 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Dartmouth

Property: Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Address: 456 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn, located minutes away from Dartmouth Crossing, Burnside Industrial Park and Mic Mac Mall. The historic downtown Halifax area is a quick drive or short ferry ride away. At the hotel all of our rooms are equipped with small fridge and microwaves, coffee pot, iron and board, hair dryer and 32" LCD TV. All our rates include free Hot Continental Breakfast, free wifi, free local calls and free parking. We understand that you pet is part of your family - we are a pet friendly hotel and now 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Dartmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing