We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Nearby Hotels
$136
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Burnside Hotel(Dartmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
50
65
33
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
65
33
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtdonaircontinental breakfasta queen size bedfew minutes drivedowntown halifaxplace to stayroom was cleanguest laundrystayed here for nightseggshotel is locatedconvenient locationhome basedecent sizewi finova scotia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night during a late-August stay in Dartmouth. This hotel is located on Windmill Road which runs parallel to the harbour, in close proximity to a Travelodge further down the road. Overall, a somewhat outdated, no-frills budget hotel/motel with a early continental breakfast (6am-9am) and relatively early check-in (1pm) that does the trick if you need to stay on this side of the Halifax Harbour.

My room was a single queen bed on the 2nd floor of the complex. The room was very spacious and well laid out, complete with flat screen TV, cabinet space, work desk, and a pullout sofa bed. There was definitely some refurbishing done to the washroom as there was some effort put into the counters and shower, which looked much never than say the doors which screamed late 70s and early 80s. The bed was not overly comfortable nor were the sheets awfully new but everything was clean. Climate control was good, no complaints there.

The breakfast is very basic, but very convenient for those looking to get an early start on the day. Three types of cereal, assorted juices and milk, hot coffee and water for your tea, various breads, croissants and pastries, as well as hard-boiled eggs (some cold, some kept warm in a crock-pot.

Check-in and check-out were very fast. My credit card was charged over night and the receipt left under my door in the morning. i gave my keys back and I was off.

Oh and for those with heavy luggage, there is no elevator so be aware of that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Clean, comfortable. We especially liked how we could park our vehicle right outside the sliding patio door. Can't get much more convenient than that!

Not much of a 'Wow" factor here--just a pleasant, accomodating staff, comfortable digs at a reasonable price. Doesn't take too long to get into downtown Halifax. It's also very easy to find in a rather quiet little corner of Dartmouth.

King of Donair is right across the street. You owe it to yourself to try a donair (a local favorite, similar to a gyro) or their donair pizza--which is outstanding---and cheap!

Room Tip: There are 2 floors. Opt for the first one for convenience.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumphreyClinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear HumhreyClinker,

We look forward to you returning on your next trip to Halifax.

Sincerely,
Patricia McQuillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at this Inn on a recent road trip to the East Coast. It was not easy to find as the exit off the main highway is a very sharp turn to the right immediately before a massive toll booth area! Not to mention that the GPS maps for this highway junction are all out of date, even on a new GPS update.

The hotel was your average Comfort Inn, nothing special. The rooms were clean and the service friendly. As we spent the days there out and about, we passed little but sleep time in the Inn.

Breakfasts are in a very cramped space, with limited selections. What was there was good.

Room Tip: Not the place to stay if you want amenities and restaurants within walking distance, but the price is good for the area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coyote028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Coyote028,

Most of the local busiesses have been l lobbing the Halifax Bridge Commission to improve the exit signage. I am happy to report that there is now a new sign at this exit. We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patricia McQuillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great service, great staff, comfy beds! Great stay as usual!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhvchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia McQ M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you so much for the great comments on your recent stay here at the Comfort Inn. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patricia McQuillan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews