We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Located just 15 minutes from Halifax waterfront and downtown with very convenient access. Hotel is also located near great shopping and a number of restaurants. I would recommend either the Japanese or Greek restaurant near the hotel.
Accommodations were first class and the staff was very attentive. The room was also much less expensive than downtown Halifax hotels.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psyprofpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are glad that you had such a great stay and that you enjoyed our location. Our staff strives to provide every guest with the best possible service and they were pleased to hear that you have noticed. Hopefully you can stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    247
    68
    28
    12
See reviews for
404
188
27
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were stayong in Westin downtown Halifax for 4 days and when we tried to extend our stay there were no rooms. So we spent a sleepless night trying to find hotels available without success. Finally we went to Hampton Inn and Suites.
We first asked the receptionist to show us a room. She was exceptionally nice and friendly, her name is Alison :) She took us upstairs and shows us a room. Rooms are like 2 times bigger than the Westin, they are brand new, with a beautiful LCD screen and nice seating area. Internet is included in the price and parking is for free. The bathroom is very nice and spacious. We loved the room when we entered. So, we stayed there for one night, they have 24 hours coffee (decaf-robust and regular), like 10 kinds of tea and hot chocolate in the lobby. Hot and Cold breakfast is served in the lobby from 6-10 and you can not but notice how everyone in the hotel staff smiles at you and seems to be genuinely enquiring if you are enjoying your stay.
I thought initially we wilol be cut off from Halifax but it literally took us 15 minutes to be downtime (we went back and forth 4 times). So, if you have a car and you want to stay in a beautiful, comfortable hotel, I highly recommend the Hampton.
Rooms: compared to the Westin and Hiliday Inn Select (now Atlantic): brand new
Room Space: double the size of the Westin
Parking: Free vs. 20 USD parking fee for Westin
Internet: Free vs. 10 USD per day for Westin

Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmamassoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My family and I stayed three nights while visiting Halifax area. Although it is quite far out of Halifax and takes at least 15 mins to get downtown, we were very pleased with the Hampton Inn. Given that it cost at least $100 dollars less per night than a hotel in downtown Halifax, it was worth the drive. We are not shoppers so did not benefit from being in Dartmouth Crossing, but if you like Big Box stores then you will love this area!
My kids loved the waterslide and the pool was very clean and there were always lots of towels. The breakfast was quite good, but we were disappointed that a hotel that says it is environmentally friendly would use plastic cutlery and plates -- it seems very wasteful!
The room was very spacious and extremely clean and modern. The bathroom was particularly nice. We had a view of the wall but as there is not much to see in the area anyways, we didn't mind. The only other thing that would of been nice was if there was a fridge in the room. I would definately recommend this for families -- your kids will love the pool and it will save you some$!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for a quick anniversary getaway. The location was what enticed us - walking distance to great shopping and restaurants, and very easy to find - easy access for touring HRM. We will be back because of the quality of the hotel, the service and the extemely reasonable price. Booked on line - got an excellent deal - even in peak season. Loved the relaxed feel of the lobby. Breakfast was better than most hotels which include breakfast in the price. Room was spotless and very comfortable.
Only surprise : no pay-per-view movies.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgeplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed here while attending a wedding in NS. The hotel is new and modern. Complimenatary breakfast was great and had a range of items such as eggs, sausage, ham, DIY waffles, pancakes, range of cereals, coffee, tea, and juice. Fitness room is good as well and has dumbbells which is rare. The location is great - shopping and restaurants (Jack Astors, Sushi Nami, Montanas, Moxies, Swiss Chalet, Starbucks, Tim Hortons) are a stone's throw away. We took the ferry over to Halifax regularly for approx $20 cab fare each way. If you're driving, its maybe 15min to the bridge that joins Dartmouth and Halifax. Hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful with calling cabs and giving directions. Cleaning service was also good. Will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. It is good that you enjoyed our breakfast, fitness room, location, and service. Our associates make it their goal to exceed our guest's expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Fantastic stay! This hotel is in immaculate condition. The rooms are decorated in modern tastes as are all the common areas. The pool was the perfect temperature and the staff were friendly. This is the first hotel I've been to that I havent been woken up by housekeeping at unreasonable hours and for the price we paid, it is a total gem, especially so close to the city. We plan to stay here anytime we are in the area and are disappointed that we need to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGoguen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We were greeted with huge smiles & friendly chat! Talk about feeling like a family member! They welcomed us like we were one of their own....nice touch! And, a special thank you to Amy at the front desk who gave us a great view from our 7th floor window.

This Hotel is still new (less than 1 yr.) & has that "new car smell" to it. And, you can see the pride in the workmanship & decoration. Somebody has really thought about where to place things like the free tea/coffee station by the front door. (Grab a cup before you head out on the road again - I like that!)

Front desk also recommended a little hole in the wall called "Mic Mac Bar & Grill" for dinner where a lobster/steak dinner (with potato) cost us $19.99! The most delicious meal we've had so far - thanks for the recommendation!

I could go on and on about all the "little" things at this Hotel, but you should really drop by & experience it for yourself. We've stayed at many Hotels around the world & this place ranks just as high as all of them!

Thanks to all at the Hotel - we loved staying with you guys!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMasterToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing