We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, dirty......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am currently in this hotel and I have to say that I am very disappointed. Note that I previously stayed here a year ago but the current state of the hotel is very different from my last stay. first of all, the rooms -- walls are paper thin, linens had holes in them, pillows were the worst I have ever had in a hotel -- small and hard. Next the common areas -- really in need of a good cleaning. Actually, the hotel manager should really take a walk around this hotel and really look at it. The elevator was gross. You could actually see where the floor had been washed and all the dirt was pushed toward the edges and corners and up the bottom of the wall, but noone took the time for a real cleaning. In the public washrooms, there were hair and fluids on the walls of the stalls and doors. This is really gross -- who knows what that is......... When you are in a stall and you can see some sort of fluids on the doors and walls........yuck! It is true that this hotel is new and bright, but it seems to me that there is a serious attention to detail among the staff here and perhaps they are taking their position for granted. I travel frequently and I will not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel to others. Dirty, dirty, dirty.......

Room Tip: the best tip is to look elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busterjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We have addressed your areas of concern immediately and want to assure you that this not typical for our public spaces at the Hampton Inn & Suites. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in further detail, please contact me directly at rnorman@newcastlehotels.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very pleased... excellent staff and great spot for kids... location is perfect for dining and shopping and local travel We were visiting with hockey team although most of the team stayed in a different spot without pool and without full complimentary breakfast... we were in the right spot!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our on-site amenities and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until next time,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times with and without kids. Each time we have had a great time. It is very conveniently located near tons of stores, restaurants and the Mic Mac Mall. It is also right off the expressway so easy access into Halifax.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendiKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We want to thank you for staying with us at the Hampton - we're happy we're your hotel of choice when in Halifax & Dartmouth. Our location is what differentiates us from other hotels in the area.

We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend and had a very good experience. We had a queen studio suite with lots of room. The room was well equipped and we had everything we needed. They provided movies for kids on Friday and Saturday nights, and the water slide was also a big hit. I was pleased that we did not encounter noise from other rooms or the hallway even though the hotel seemed to be pretty full. Our first morning there we skipped the complimentary breakfast because it was way too overcrowded (we made the mistake of going for a swim first and didn't go to breakfast until 9am), the next morning we were there about 7am and we able to manage quite easily. The breakfast was tasty and there was a good variety. My son and I enjoyed the pool and water slide, but one of the whirlpools was not working properly. Water temperature ans pressure were a bit of an issue, took quite a while to get hot water and the pressure was really low. This could have been because we were on the top floor, not really sure. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Dartmouth Hampton. We’re pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with your family over Easter weekend. The pool and waterslide are always a big hit and we’re glad your kids were able to experience our movie nights.

Thank you for letting us know about the whirlpool. We will be sure to take a look into this issue. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here with family for hockey tournament. Great service and location. Rooms super and big. The staff want you to enjoy the stay, and the level of service shows it. If a difficulty occurs due extremely busy part of the year, hotel staff take care of it ASAP, and the show they care.

Room Tip: Lower floors, in case elavatore slow, when hotel full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockey154958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments with us. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience at the Dartmouth Hampton. Our spacious guestrooms give our guests the opportunity to stretch out after a long day of activities.

We truly hope when can welcome you and your team back to our Dartmouth Hotel in the near future.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Clean, quiet, convenient, well-equipped, easy access to the highway and the business parks in Dartmouth. This hotel is great for a business trip. It's not a place that I would stay if I was visiting Halifax/Dartmouth on vacation because of its location, but perfect for work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Brokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you had a productive and comfortable stay with our Dartmouth hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I must say here if you are looking for a totally wheelchair accessible room, room 302 is for you! The room is a sweet and has lots of room to get around in your large wheelchair in the roll in shower and bathroom is very big. The bed is very comfortable and you are able to use a Hoyer lift with no issues. Carpet is not thick so it is easy to get around. I've stated many accessible rooms in this one is the best!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubberducky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you choosing to stay at the Dartmouth Hampton. We’re ecstatic to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us in one of our accessible guestrooms. Come back soon, we’d love to have you.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing