We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, clean and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent service, clean and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stay here on business a couple of times a year and have no complaints. Restaurants, cafés and the movie theater are just across the parking lot. Service is always pleasant and quick. Rooms are clean and breakfast more than enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Dartmouth Hampton. We’re delighted to hear that you consistently enjoy our convenient location, service, accommodations and delicious breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable experience.

Until next time,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    235
    66
    28
    12
See reviews for
396
185
26
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Rooms clean, if a bit sterile. We did have problems accessing the wi-fi on an iPad and the front desk person was not able to get us working and no other tech support was available.

Breakfast was nothing special but hey it was free.

We'd give it another try based on put first stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaRoadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Dartmouth Hampton and for sharing your feedback with us. Our sincerest apologies to the complications with the wifi. Feel free to contact us directly to further discuss this situation. We hope you stay with us again in the near future; we’d love to have you back.

Until then,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We came here on a family trip and it was a great experience.

The lobby is very modern and checking in was simple. There is a really nice indoor pool/hot tub area. The hotel grounds are kept very clean. The area around this hotel is quickly being filled with stores and restaurants. We spent one day just walking around and shopping.

The room was big and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast each morning.

Overall, great experience. If you aren't looking to stay directly in Halifax this hotel is wonderful. We had a rental vehicle, but this hotel would be very out of the way without one. Great family vacation place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our modern amenities and delicious complimentary breakfast. We are located in the heart of Dartmouth Crossing, perfect for shopping trips. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel surpassed our expectations!!! It was immaculately clean, the staff was courteous and helpful with whatever we needed. The kids loved the pool and the waterslide and it was as clean and well kept as the room we stayed in. As an added bonus there was a free hot breakfast each morning that offered an amazing variety of wonderful food for the whole family.

My family and I would highly recommend this hotel no matter what your travelling needs are. It is is close to awesome shopping and great restaurants and if you need any advice on either of these things, just ask the front desk staff and they will point you in the right direction!

Thanks for the awesome stay !!! We'll definitely be back !!!!
Dreea MacKinnon, PEI

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton and for sharing your comments. We take pride in our guest experience and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities offered at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have stayed at this property previously and knew what to expect in the updated decor, modern style rooms and good breakfasts. Our children love the pool with the great waterslide so returning to this hotel has been an easy decision. The close proximity to stores and shopping is an added feature. However, this time it was hit and miss with customer service at the front desk - and there were some big misses. Upon arrival we had a special request for our room and the hotel staff were quite accommodating. However, upon check out when we wanted to discuss the obvious problem of the exceptionally loud fire alarm going off not once, not twice but FOUR times during our stay (once at 1:30am and three times the following morning). No one wanted to discuss this. In fact front desk staff gave the impression they could not care less. Beware. Apparently there is a fault in the system which routinely sets off the alarm according to staff. The hotel staff said they were aware of the issue, however there was no mention of this when we checked in or booked the hotel. The response when we approached the front desk to discuss the issue is that this problem happens all the time. I have to say we have stayed at this property previously (we are Hilton Honors members) and have not experienced this, however, the very poor customer service skills by the front desk staff and lack of interest in the quality of the stay spoke volumes. It did not seem like the Hampton Inn cared about whether or not our stay was relaxing or even restful. Our return to this property is questionable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. I would like the opportunity to discuss these concerns in further detail, so please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

I look forward to talking with you soon so these issues can be rectified.

Thank you,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our family stayed nov 23-26. We stayed in a queen suite, lots of room, staff are very accommodating, the water slide was enjoyed by the kids.....breakfast buffet was kept replenished, it's close to shopping....ideal location....we look forward to returning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doucey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Hampton and for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy you and your family enjoyed our spacious guestrooms, breakfast buffet and location. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Dartmouth on 26 & 27 Nov. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and very professional. Our king sized room was very comfortable and clean. The food served at breakfast was extremely fresh and tasty. Excellent. If we ever find ourselves in Halifax again, we will definately stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your visit at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We have a convenient location in Dartmouth Crossing, and we're a huge hit for shopping trips! We're happy you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, our clean and spacious guestrooms, and our location.

We hope to welcome you back again when you return to Halifax.

Until then,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing