We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night and plastic lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arriving after a long flight the Hampton Inn is easy to reach from the airport. It is located in a new commercial area, so it could happen that the address is not in the GPS. Be prepared for this.

The staff was very attentive and helpful on arrival. Our room was very spacious and well equipped, but it was dark. The window was directed to some kind of atrium, giving not much way to sunlight. The switch on the entrance door only operated a small light in the entrance and the room still was somewhat dark. We had to use a torch to find our way into the room and to all the switches on the lights. Every light is directly switched on/off with the usual switch. So, you have to prepare your way from bathroom to bed with strictly turning all the lights off.

The environment of the hotel offers some pubs and restaurants reachable by a short drive or walk. The hotel offers no bar or restaurant, so you have to go outside.

What really made me rate down this location was the breakfast. There was a selection of cereals and food but no crockery. You have to use the styrofoam and plastic stuff they offer, with two large wastebins neasr the buffet. Every breakfast out in the forrest during camping tastes better than eggs with plastic fork from a styrofoam dish. Seating was more lobby style than for having something to eat, so very uncomfortable.

The hotel was ok for a stay of just one night, but clearly no recommendation for longer stays. There are hotels in the airport area with proper crockery for less money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanteju5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites. Our apologies for not meeting your Hampton expectations. We take pride in our hotel and work to ensure we exceed brand standards and policies. I would encourage you to contact us directly to discuss your concerns in further detail.

We hope to welcome you back again to the Hampton Inn & Suites.

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our hotel experience was wonderful. Since it's fairly new, the place is modern, clean and spacious. The breakfast area is right off the lobby and very convenient. The pool is really cool with a slide, and lots of fun for kids. The front desk staff was so attentive, they catch you coming and going with a hearty greeting. The location is very convenient to the expressway, only minutes from the mall and Halifax, and walking distance to boutique shopping and restaurants. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Suites are spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. From our guest services to our hotel rooms, We take pride in our hotel and we're pleased to hear you had such a memorable visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. Very comfortable, clean and amazing location. A short walk to anything you would want or need. Will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenpink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your comments with us. We're delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We choose Hamptons because of the beds. This hotel beat both of the other Hamptons that we have stayed in by a country mile. Fantastic, caring, friendly service coupled with a huge delicious breakfast and coffee that compared with the Starbucks up the road.
Very well-cared for property. Highly recommended. The obvious difference with this hotel can be measured by the quality of those who work there.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room on the top floors. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take pride in our hotel and our Maritime hospitality - we're delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay. We've shared your comments with our team and they were grateful for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Stayed here twice in the past 2 months - first time a double room and the second time a suite. Rooms were very clean. Beds were super comfy and very clean. The free breakfast was hot and delicious. The pool was a blast - especially the water slide. The staff are wonderful. Everyone I dealt with was so friendly and helpful & the housekeepers even left us little notes everyday. The location can't be beat - within walking distance of many restaurants, shopping and a movie theatre. McDonalds, Tim Horton's, Costco, Walmart and many, many others are all in the same area of Dartmouth Crossing. Will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was travelling with 3 kids and the suite was definitely the better pick for us. (And only $30 more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We take pride in our Hamptonality and we're delighted that you received quality, friendly and helpful service during your visit. We will see you again soon!

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's a great place to stay! Big pool, 150ft water slide, large rooms,very clean, great staff ,the best complimentary breakfast ever!! All the best shopping and Restaurants just outside the front doors.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny0555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites! We're pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, hotel amenities and most importantly, our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband & I booked in for 1 evening as we were attending a party near by and needed a place to stay. We got a very reasonable rate and our suite was huge/clean and comfortable. The pool looked lovely and children were enjoying the slide which is separate from the pool which was nice as you didn't have to worry about swimming where people would be coming off the slide. The breakfast was decent, ham, scrambled eggs, waffles and then all the cold regular items like muffins, toast, yogurts, cereals. It was busy but they have an overload room which is where we ended up. I would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjspetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites and for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet and spacious guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#7 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $114 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing