We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent one night here to do some shopping. You can walk to Dartmouth Crossing for shopping, restaurants and a movie theatre. MicMac Mall is just a short drive away. Our room was very comfortable and clean. A king bed and sofa. The bathroom was a good size, did not have a bathtub, but it had a huge shower. The only problem I had with the room was with the water pressure in both the sink and shower. I realize they were environmentally friendly, but I've stayed in other hotels where the low flow devices worked a lot better. Breakfast was like a zoo. Granted it was a weekend morning at 9:30 but tables were all taken and when available not cleaned. Food didn't seem to be replaced when gone. I think they were short of staff as I only saw one person for the 1/2 hour we were there. However the hotel was a great bargain, reception was very friendly, rooms comfortable and clean and in a great location. I would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We’re happy you enjoyed our location in Dartmouth Crossing, our friendly staff and our modern guest rooms. We appreciate the feedback about your breakfast experience and want to reassure you that we will look into this further.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Dartmouth hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hands down this is one of the nicest Hampton Inns I have ever stayed at. And I have stayed at a bunch! From the outside, the hotel looks like every other Hampton, but it is located in a very nice shopping center called Dartmouth Crossing. (Which is a great place for meals or shopping) The minute you walk inside the hotel though, you feel like it is different than the average Hampton (or many other "express" type hotels for that matter). The decor of the hotel is quite modern, tasteful, and really very nice. The hotel color scheme is this cool undertone of blues and greens and really works. There is a very nice gas fireplace in the lobby and a comfortable seating area around it. The check-in staff was very friendly and efficient, and the fresh cookies were a yummy treat.
The rooms themselves are typical updated Hampton rooms, which means a very comfortable bed, fresh clean linens, and a clean modern bathroom. I liked the large workdesk with good power outlets for laptops and phones, and the hi-speed internet was very fast.
In the morning the breakfast area is nicely laid out, and the food choices were good.
If you have kids, the hotel pool would ROCK. There is a huge twisty water slide, which is very atypical for a Hampton hotel pool, but it looked like a lot of fun.
All in all, this is one of the best hotels in Dartmouth, and really the entire Halifax metro area!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites! We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable visit at our Dartmouth hotel. We’re pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, modern facilities and most importantly, our friendly staff. We pride ourselves on our Nova Scotia hospitality and we have shared your comments with our team; they are grateful for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I spend a week-end at the Hampton Inn in Dartmouth and we both appreciated the service and the location of this new hotel.

This hotel is great when you need to go around Halifax but wish to stay a little bit outside of the city. You can walk to the shops at Dartmouth Crossing and a short drive will bring you to the Mic Mac Mall.

Check-in was prompt and efficient. The room was clean, bright and freshly decorated. The bathroom was fairly large with a double shower (no bathtub). Bed was comfortable. Breakfast is free of charge in the morning (eggs, sausages, bagels, waffles, cereals...) but get up early, the breakfast area gets packed later in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side facing the shops at Dartmouth Crossing, otherwise you'll have an h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We’re pleased you enjoyed our convenient location in Dartmouth Crossing, our modern guest rooms and our complimentary On the House breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very nice! Everything is new and shiny. The front lobby/breakfast area is lovely! Nice pool and conveniently located within walking distance of Dartmouth Crossing....Dartmouth's newest massive shopping mall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSRoadrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for visiting with us at our Dartmouth hotel located in the convenient Dartmouth Crossing, the best area for Halifax shopping. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at a Hampton Inn for the first time last weekend- we took a suite at the Hampton at Dartmouth Crossing. We often stay in the halifax area and usually stay at the Prince George but we decided to make a change as we wanted to visit the shopping area at Dartmouth Crossing.
I was very pleased with the price of a suite at the Hampton= $ 136 per night that includes free parking and free hot breakfast. The Hotel is quite new, very clean and located directly in the Dartmouth Crossing area shopping, movie house, restaurants, etc. Our room was quite large and a great find for the price. There is nothing fancy there in terms of furniture and the room has an awkward feel to it initially as there is a sink etc directly as you enter the room and in the other part of the room, the toilet and sink are not in the same room. Nevertheless, the place was very clean, with a good bed and lots of space and the hotel was very quiet. They have limited staff at the hotel but the ones that are there are very casual and friendly. We slept in every morning so we can't comment on the quality of the hot breakfast. There was a really nice pool in the hotel with a slide etc if one had kids. There is also a nice terrace in the rear.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the Hotel as it was relatively cheap and served the purpose. We were able to shop at Dartmouth Crossing without using our vehicle and we even walked to the movie theatre one evening. There were also several good restaurants in the immediate area including Moxies. As well, we were only a few minutes away from Halifax by way of the bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for staying with us at our Dartmouth hotel. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in Dartmouth Crossing, our large guest rooms and our friendly staff. We hope to see you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Great location, poor house keeping (particularly lobby, swimming pool area etc), Very Good Staff, Good Courtesy,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We’re pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. Our sincerest apologies for not meeting your housekeeping standards. We want to reassure you that we have looked into this and addressed your concerns.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This place is new and very clean. The staff is very friendly. Caroline at the front desk upgrade us after the first night because they were overbooked ans we didn't have the room we asked for. Breakfast was good, the room is modern ans clean, so everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClasH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed our On the House complimentary breakfast, modern guest rooms and most importantly, our friendly staff. Caroline is a valuable member of our team and she was thankful for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Be well,
Rick Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#7 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $112 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing