We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Great central location, close to malls and downtown, the Best Western Dartmouth was a gem of a find.
Excellent staff, friendly and quite accommodating. Room was neat, Bed amazing with tons of pillows of all firmness available, jacuzzi was so inviting! Would recommend to anyone! Thanks so much for a great evening!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyjourney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    149
    48
    12
    2
See reviews for
146
142
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is an excellent place to stay if you are planning a shopping trip to Dartmouth Crossing. Also close to the Mic Mac Mall. The Best Western is new, clean, quiet and the room we had was large and equipped with microwave and flat screen TV. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service very good. Reservation was handled without any problems and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Had a very comfortable room and the quality of the room was excellent in all areas. Overall, an excellent stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearytraveller093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Hi Wearytraveller093

Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our award winning Hotel and Staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and i stayed at this hotel as an anchor base for 7days in early October while on vacation and celebrating our anniversary. We had a very pleasant stay, everyone at the front desk was most helpful with all the questions we asked, and there were many!... Jenna went out of her way to help us with many wonderful suggestions, they even surprised us with a fruit and cheese tray for our anniversary it helped make our day extra special. The room was spacious and very clean as was the entire hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast, it was a great jump start to our days of exploring, and so was relaxing in the hot tub and pool afterwards . We had a great time taking in all the beautiful sites of Nova Scotia and couldn't have picked a better place to start...thanks to all of you for an enjoyable visit!...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear goa2,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are very proud of the award winning staff that we have and the services that we offer.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed two nights. The room was good. WiFi was a nice touch. Supper was good (not great, but good). Pool was small but cute. Hot tub was nice to see.
Location sucked for someone who likes to take a walk whenever possible. Construction on the roads and trails in the area and no sidewalks to take you out of the area.
The worst aspect was breakfast, though... not impressed. The first day we ate around 7 so we were prepared to have a few things missing. The second we ate right at opening, 6 am. Bear in mind that our rooms were booked as having "full breakfasts" not "continental breakfasts". My expectations may also be different from yours as I consider full breakfast to be breakfast ordered from a menu with choices of how you want your egg, what meat you want, what side you want. Continental, to me, is no choice, steamer trays rather than fresh cooked anything, muffins, croissants, milk, juice, cereal.
Day 1 we had lukewarm scrambled eggs out of a steamer tray, ham out of another one and homefries out of a third. None were hot and there were no other hot choices. Day 2 we had COLD scrambled eggs, sausages and home fries. Again, no other choice. My colleague had cereal on day 2 and the milk was sour. He tried a muffin and it was inedibly bad. He's very forgiving and yet I watched him spit it out at the table unable to tolerate it. In short, there was less selection that I have seen at many continental breakfasts and the food quality and selection was substandard by most measures.
If you can avoid breakfast and don't have any interest in the outdoors or proximity to anything, then this hotel has comfortable beds and a decent bar and is worth the stay. If not, give it a pass. I'll still give it 3 stars for the things I did like.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelfan400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Travelfan400

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.

Our hotel is located in a very busy business park that is expanding every year. The construction that you are mentioning is taking place a few lots north of us with more expansion happening every day. This is a very exciting time for all businesses in our park as we seem to be welcoming new neighbours every month. I wasn't aware that the walking trails beside our hotel were affected by this construction, I will take a walk there myself to ensure that we are sending our guests to a safe and enjoyable area to walk.
I am shocked about your comments about our breakfast. I am very proud to say that we offer a better breakfast than most of our competitors in our area. After extensive research we choose products that are fresh and that we can easily make in our own kitchen. Nothing is prepackaged or reheated like most of our competition. I will pass your comments along to our Food and Beverage Director to research and correct any issues that may be happening. Also, I have check all websites and collateral that we control at the hotel level, and all of it does mention that we offer a "Full Hot Buffet Breakfast". I am sorry if this is misleading in any way.
Thank you so much for your feedback and I hope that I can welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed here during September 2010 and booked a suite. We have two young children (aged 3 and 1) so wanted the extra space. The suite comprised of a living area (sofa bed, desk, fridge, microwave, tv) followed by a small corridor including sink & mirror which led to the bedroom. Opposite the sink, off the corridor is the bathroom (toilet, bath & shower). So plenty of room, clean and tidy and just what we needed. We slept our eldest on the sofa bed and had requested a cot for the youngest which we kept in the living area. The reception staff are a great credit to this hotel - nothing was too much trouble, the cot was already made up when we arrived in our room, extra blankets were sent up in 10 minutes and any directions we needed were printed out and explained to us. Breakfast was ok - a reasonable choice of cereal, breads, cakes, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc and also some hot food; scrambled egg, mini hash browns, bacon or sausage. Tea, Coffee and fruit juices too.
Location wise it was fine for us - we wanted to be within reasonable distance from Halifax (approx 10-15mins by car) but also close to the main roads in order to explore NS (Fall River approx 20mins away, airport 30mins etc). All in all, a lovely hotel, good location and excellent staff. They do have a restaurant/bar however we didnt eat or drink there (other than breakfast) but the food looked good and reasonably priced. We'd definately stay again which I guess is the best recommendation any hotel could get!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris71London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Chris71London

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed their stay at our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Very busy place, almost no parking available at 8 pm. A professional check in at a very busy front desk, a spacious clean room. The bathroom is so small, only a single person can use it at a time. The cleaning crew forgot to replace the towels after the first night. Upon calling the front desk we quickly received new ones. On the second day the room had not been taken care of until 5.15 pm!
The ‘high speed’ internet had many problems, drop outs and interruptions.
Outside the hotel is a heat exchanger which produces an annoying noise.
The inside pool is slippery just where it slopes down to 6ft, very dangerous. There is no shower in the pool area, everybody will most likely not come freshly showered from the room. Usually I want to have a shower before and after being in a public pool. The hot tub was u/s, i.e. cold during all three days of the stay. The front desk could not say when it might be repaired. The pool towels are like sanding paper. So forget about the pool.
The breakfast offers a good selection from scrambled eggs to muffins and toast as well as a selection of juices and of course coffee.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank einstein007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear einstein007

Thank you for your review on our hotel.
You had a few issues and suggestions for us that we will look into immediately. I am glad that overall your stay with us was comfortable.
Thank you againa dnwe look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed there 2 nights. It is in an industrial area on a dead end street. There are stores and some restaurants about 5 minutes away. It is close to the major highways. Everything was new and clean and well looked after. Only complaints was it was busy with alot of business travellers, they only had 1 ice maker working for the whole hotel, and they were starting construction on a new addition outside our window. They did only work from 9 am to 6 pm and we were out of the room all day anyway. A nice touch was the phone call from guest services about 10 minutes after we checked in to see if everything was alright. The pool and hot tub are a bit small but clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear misslindy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed a busy hotel and are proud that our business travellers are comfortable enough to call our hotel a second home. Our leisure guests that are passing through also have enjoyable experiences like you did and this makes us a well-rounded hotel. I am glad that the construction on our 4200 sq ft Convention Centre did not disturb your visit. We are anticipating an open in the new year.
I apologize for the lack of a second ice machine. On the week that you were with us, there was an issue with our second machine and a part was being shipped in. The machine is now working.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dartmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing