We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing service, amazing hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The service, breakfast and hotel are fantastic. We stayed here two separate times in just over a week on a family vacation, our first room was a kitchenette on the fourth floor.the room was clean, spacious, and perfect after long days of sightseeing. The staff was excellent, incredibly helpful, and always available. We ate at Trendz (the hotel restaurant), three times during our stays, and were happy every time. The Caesar salad is to die for, and the waiters are helpful and very fast. Our second room on the third floor was a little smaller, as there was no kitchenette, but still perfect for our needs. The only 'complaint' I would have is that the pillows are very high pillows. For stomach sleepers, it was hard to get comfortable. I would definitely stay here again, as it is right off the highway to both the airport and Halifax!

Room Tip: Go for a fourth floor kitchenette, even if you don't need it. The rooms are a little larger, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good Day Mudrykm

Thank you for the "Amazing" review. Although we offer free Breakfast, Free Parking and Free Wifi, our best amenity is our staff. We are very fortunate to have the "Amazing" staff that we do. It makes us very happy when our guests recognize it also.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    168
    52
    12
    2
See reviews for
164
152
23
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PEI
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a good hotel with large, clean rooms and inexpensive rates (with free parking, wi-fi & breakfast). The rooms aren't as nicely decorated as the nearby Hampton Inn, but it is quieter since it tends to attract business travellers from the industrial park rather than large groups of children. The only real complaint I have is about the pillows. There were 8 pillows in the room but they were all the same and all too overstuffed to sleep on comfortably. They really should replace half of the pillows in each room with a softer version to give guests the option (like Holiday Inn Express and several other hotels do). Some people will like the fat pillows, but I didn't sleep well because of it and likely won't return for that reason alone. The breakfast was ok but didn't have as much selection as similarly priced hotels tend to have. In particular, there was no bacon (just sausages) and the waffles are pre-made in a steam tray rather than from a make-your-own machine (with no toppings available other than syrup).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodAddictPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day FoodAddictPEI ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We have come to realize over the years that Beds and pillows are a very personal thing. Some love our pillows and some do not. You did not mention if you called the Front Desk about this. We do have a stock of flat pillows at the Front Desk that we will deliver to rooms upon request. Please keep this in mind if you choose to stay with us again.
Thank you again for the review.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stay here every time I travel to Halifax. The staff is friendly and efficient. My room is comfortable,clean and the bed is great. Location is a little out of the way if you want to see the downtown area but it's a short taxi ride to Barrington street. I have enjoyed the bar.They make great martinis. My only complaint is the breakfast. By the time I arrived everything was a little tired and cold. The tables were not cleaned off so I had to sit at a dirty table and move someones dirty dishes. The dinner menu is very good and I have enjoyed a great meal at Trendz on my last visit. I recommend it.A little pricey but worth it. The wine list was also good.

Room Tip: Ask if there is any events that might be noisy to avid getting a room close to the event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helenecarmelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good Day Helene,

Thank you for taking the time to say some great words about our hotel. Hearing that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the cleanliness and the lounge brings a smile to our staff. I am sorry that you had the experience you did at breakfast. Depending on the time, it can be busy and the staff do their best to keep up. On your next visit, do not hesitate to get the attention of a staff member and ask them to set a table for you if you cannot find one. They will be very happy to accommodate you.
We hope to see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were quite pleased with our recent stay at Best Western Plus in Dartmouth, N.S. The staff were courteous and informative, the bedding was quite comfortable and the rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was far better than I expected with many options for either hot or cold. It's just minutes to the airport, downtown Halifax and Dartmouth Crossing and was decently priced. We would definitely stay there again when visiting NS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorelei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good Day Lorelei,

Thank you so much for the great review. We do make our breakfast fresh. Nothing is pre-made, reheated or microwaved like you will get at some chains. We are so glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the hospitality of our staff, our greatest asset by far.
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clean hotel, good sized room, small but clean bathroom, o.k. breakfast. Out of the way if you're mostly interested in Halifax (if so, consider the Chocolate Lake location which we went to see and had a nice setting).

Room Tip: Top floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good Day Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed the clean and spacious room and all the complimentary amenities that we offer. While we are in Dartmouth, which is a part of the Halifax Regional Municipality, we are still close to many points of interest. Our access to Halifax is very convenient using either of the Halifax Bridges.

Thank you again for your review.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldbrook, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed as a family of 5. They were very accomodating even allowed for extended checkout as my husband was finishing conference and I had the kids. Pool was great kids had a blast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Good Day Tara,

We are so happy that you decided to review our hotel. We do feel we are a great family hotel with the pool, fitness centre and restaurant available. Our free parking, Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi makes it an affordable hotel stay for any family.
We would be happy to host yourself and the kids again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Attend My sisters wedding there, the meals provided for the wedding was great, They staff were super helpful, friendly, approachable and personal ...They made a very special family event one that will live in our hearts for ever. Thank You, Thank you, Thank You

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
142 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing