We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest home from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blockhouse Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were 2 weary travellers just arrived from the UK and could not have asked for a better welcome from Fred as we arrived late at night. Our room was perfect, the bed super comfy and the sitting room with tea/coffee facilities was a godsend. Waking up to Marion's delicious homemade breakfast...granola, muffins, bread, jam, stuffed French toast to die for and all made by Marion with love!!... the best start to our first morning that we could have asked for. We could have stayed all day listening to Fred's stories. Sadly we were off on our travels and could not stay any longer but would whole heartedly recommend that you stay with Fred and Marion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabanana41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Fred and Marion's for the first and last nights of our trip to the Maritimes. We could not have asked for more, every comfort and need was accommodated. We really enjoyed getting to know Fred and Marion, and listen to Fred's wonderful stories. After a long flight to Halifax, Fred made sure that we had coffee and muffins waiting for us. Every morning, we had lots of choices for breakfast, including beautifully presented cooked breakfasts and fresh fruits, finishing with Marion's homemade muffins. It was a very welcoming introduction to the Maritimes for us, and the location in Dartmouth, about a 5min walk from the ferry to Halifax, was ideal. The rooms are spacious and even have candy! We hope to go back soon, and also hope that Fred and Marion continue to host guests at their house for a long time to come.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We started off our tour of NS and PEI by staying 2 nights at the Blockhouse Hill. Fred and Marion were excellent hosts, so helpful and hospitable. We had the four poster bed room at the front and as it is a quiet residential road we slept like logs! Every comfort was provided not only in the room, but also the little guest lounge next door and the lovely bathroom, all of which were spotlessly clean. Fred was so kind in giving us a tour around the immediate area which we would not have found on our own. Breakfast each day was different and extremely substantial. The ferry to Halifax is an easy walk and folks... if you are of a certain age...on Tuesdays the ferry is free to seniors!!!! If we visit NS again, the Blockhouse will be on top of our list for accommodation.

Room Tip: Can only speak of the front bedroom which was very comfortable and quiet and only a couple of yards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnO_13503828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Fred and Marion. We had a comfortable bed in a large room, fresh coffee was available at 7:00, and Marion's homemade breakfast was amazing.
Fred gave us great directions and suggestions to enjoy Canada Day celebrations. The ferry is only a short walk from their home.
Proud Grandpa Fred shared some stories about his children and his grandchildren.
We hated to leave, and we hope to get back to Nova Scotia again soon, and stay with Fred and Marion.
Fred really admired Allan's FORD 1/2 ton, and asked him to park close to the house. If we had more time, Allan would have taken Fred for a spin in his FORD 1/2 ton

Room Tip: We had a corner room with windows on both sides. Lots of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We were traveling with my mom so we had both rooms which made the upstairs guest area like our private little apartment. Both rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable beds. The shared bath is spacious and spotless. We loved having the sitting room and spent quite a bit of time relaxing there as we were at the end of a three-week trip and thoroughly worn out. We rode the ferry to Halifax to do our sight-seeing and it was very convenient leaving the car behind and being able to do everything on foot. The best part of our stay was our hosts, Fred and Marion. They make you feel as if you are doing them a favor by staying there so they can enjoy your company. Fred had lots of suggestions for things to see and do. Marion made a wonderful breakfast each morning. We were very sorry to say goodby to them when it was time to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed with Fred and Marion in mid-June 2013 for a few days. After a train trip from Toronto on which we did not sleep too well, their bedrooms were oh-so-welcoming and we slept like the dead. Fred and Marion were the sweetest and Marion's breakfasts were feasts of fresh berries, home-baked muffins or cake and pancakes or egg frittatas etc. The coffee was good and kept flowing. Fred is a great chatter and full of little wisdoms and knowledge. He is also a complete gentleman and went out of his way to make me warm and comfortable on their deck while I fed my nicotine habit before breakfast - arranged a chair and foot stool AND rug to keep me warm and kept filling up my coffee mug. The walk to the ferry terminal to get to Halifax is indeed just a few minutes and the ferries are great, run on time and you are in Halifax before you know it. This was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Canada for our son's graduation from university. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamarich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I cant tell you how much fun we had with Fred and Marion one of the highlights of our trip for sure . So nice and welcoming at the blockhouse and oh so professional its like staying at a 5 Star Hotel and we really enjoyed our time there and would have liked to have stayed longer and I think we will next time we travel to Nova Scotia a class act for sure, and a must stay in the Dartmouth Halifax area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#7 of 11 in Dartmouth
161 reviews
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockhouse Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockhouse Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Wentworth St, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 2T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Blockhouse Hill Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing