We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blockhouse Hill Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth(Dartmouth)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnside Hotel(Dartmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
73
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomb bferry terminalnova scotialovely hostsminute walkhomemade breakfasteach morningstayed nightsvisiting halifaxwalking distancea great staymarionrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 82 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This lovely B&B is run by Fred & Marion a wonderful couple that made me feel right like home, I arrived by bus from the airport and Fred picked me up at the bus stop. I stayed in the Alderney Room with beautiful old furniture and a very comfortable bed. There is a small lounge for the guests use with a hot water cattle for coffee and tea and some cookies are there as well. The breakfast Marion prepares is delicious every morning she prepared a different warm dish, home baked muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juice, cereals, toast and butter and the best coffee I had in Atlantic Canada. There was so much food that it brought me right through to dinner. The place is just 5 Min, walk from the ferry terminal from where the ferry goes over to Halifax in about 12 Min. so it is a very good location for exploring Halifax the second options is to walk to the bus terminal (10 Min.) with plenty of busses running to downton every couple of minutes. Definitly a place to go back to.

Room Tip: They have 2 rooms that are both lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This B&B was very clean and walking distance to the ferry and many restaurants. We were served a huge breakfast (gluten free for my husband) with fresh baking. It does have a shared bathroom but this was not a problem at all and it was very reasonably priced. It would be easy to hop on the ferry to go site seeing in Halifax. The hosts were so warm and welcoming - it was like you were visiting family

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally pleasant. They share a bathroom and a sitting room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islingtongardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, in August and staying at the Blockhouse Bed and Breakfast. I was very pleased and more than satisfied both with the amenities offered to guests, and the hospitality that was extended by the vendor, Fred and Marion Evans. The room was most comfortable, private and quiet with a separate sitting room with television and fresh coffee available in the morning. Breakfast was a healthy offering of freshly made muffins, granola, fruit and juice. A hot entre was also offered. I look forward to my next trip to the area and dropping in for another visit with Mr. and Mrs. Evan. A wonderful expereince all round.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

... and wonderful antidote to the multiple frustrations of flying United. As our UA flights out of Newark were cancelled then delayed, we arrived in Halifax past midnight and at Blockhouse Hill around 1.30am. Fred was waiting up for us. He also arranged for the car he'd earlier booked for us to meet our late arrival. On top of all that, Fred & Marion then provided one of the best B&B experiences we've had among many. No wonder it's No. 1 here.

We can only add to the raves of previous reviewers: hearty, delicious breakfasts (still salivating over Marion's home-made granola & butterscotch muffins); fresh coffee brought up to the guest sitting room for early risers; lovely Wentworth bedroom overlooking their peach tree, spotless bathroom, good shower, bathrobes & soaps provided; fast wifi; nice music, jazz & classical; all in all, a lovingly decorated home that makes you feel at home. But what made this B&B special were Marion & Fred, who were always helpful, patient with our questions, interested in where we came from. Fred is a marvelous storyteller with a cheeky sense of humour; had we known we would've stayed an extra night just for their company!

The location in Dartmouth, 5 mins walk to the ferry terminal, is also preferable to downtown Halifax -- you get a refreshing 15 min ride on the open-air deck of the little ferry, water views of Halifax harbour, and an excuse to have another hot lobster roll at Evans seafood restaurant facing the pier! Unless you're a party animal (ferry stops at 11.30pm), you'll love Blockhouse Hill B&B and its exceptionally gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lantauloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This lovely B&B is just a short walk to the Halifax ferry. Fred and Marion are exceptional hosts. The B&B is clean, inviting, and comfortable. Breakfasts (three cheese omelettes one day and stuffed French toast the next along with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, etc) were outstanding--best we had in ten days of traveling in Nova Scotia. Fred is extremely knowledgable about the area and its history. Gracious hospitality. Quiet, residential location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews