We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but really tasty”

New Moon Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 145 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but really tasty”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food is great and the staff are more than willing to help you choose the best item for your mood. The wonton soup is amazing and so is their Soo Gai Chicken. Definitely worth a second trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaperGal218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton, NS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outdated Decor/Great Food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant is old and outdated, but the food is great! The service is speedy/Friendly. I have eaten here over the years and always find the food consistently great. Saturday opening hours I recenlty learned is 3 pm which is not great if you want lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueWords11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese Food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I will go on record in saying that I have tried a lot of chinese food over the years and I still think that New Moon is my least favorite. The chow mein is sloppy and soggy. The chicken balls have too much sauce, and the sauce is too sweet. The beef in the beef and brocolli is tough and grizzly. That is just the food. The decor inside is old and I always feel dirty when I go there. The surfaces out in the seating area are always sticky.... I don't want to even imagine what the kitchen is like. Don't do it. There are so many other good Chinese places in Sydney. Try Huangs, King Fortune, or Hong Fa.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Sydney”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food is always fantastic & hot... There is always more food than you could ever finish! I highly recommend New Moon above all other Chinese restaurants in Sydney.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love New Moon”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

So I’ll admit … the décor is outdated/cheesy but the food is great! And the price is great too. It’s my fave place to go for Chinese.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeBreton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to New Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing