We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the reviews - it IS excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryden Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryden Manor B&B
Ranked #5 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews - it IS excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

If I return to Nova Scotia, I would LOVE to stay here again. We had a fantastic "suite" with refrigerator, microwave, living area with huge flat-screen TV, very nice bathroom, and a perfect bedroom with queen size bed. This home is situated on 57 beautiful wooded acres with access to the lake. It was very peaceful here! There is a deck out back that stretches the entire length of the home. Breakfast was always delicious, and the hosts are extremely accommodating. They've set a new standard for cleanliness which is off the charts! Thank you Shirley & Bill for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdrider2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Alice and I were first-time visitors (on Canada Day!) from upstate New York, and we LOVED our stay at Bryden Manor. The Brydens are the most gracious, generous and friendly hosts, and the accommodations fantastic. Two nights here were not nearly enough - we want to come back for a longer stay very soon! We learned quickly that most of their customers are long-time repeat quests who have grown attached to this beautiful gem in Cape Breton and the Bryden's lovely hospitality..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

What can we say, another great visit to a wonderful place. This was our third visit and second Celtic Colours. Our time there is the highlight of the Festival. The breakfast has to be seen to believe, with fresh fruit and something hot different every day. Coming back each year has become a tradition. We highly recommed the Bryden Manor experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryDi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our ninth consecutive trip to Cape Breton. On our second trip we discovered Bryden Manor Bed and Breakfast. We have gone back every year since to see our friends Bill and Shirley and to enjoy the Celtic Colours Music Festival. Several years ago we joined up with friends at the B&B we had met at the festival to show them what the best B&B experience would be in Nova Scotia. This year we again were able to join with a couple we met last year at the B&B. They discovered our secret. This is the kind of experience they make “feel good” movies about. The hardest part about the whole trip is saying goodbye and returning home.
George McConnell

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

Our second year and we can not say enough. Wonderful hosts, breakfasts, rooms and cleanliness. Very knowledgeable about the area, things to see and do.
We plan on returning next year. Highly recommend to all,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryDi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed only one night at this wonderful B&B at the beginning of October, but wished we had booked an entire week around this wonderful spot! We were there during the first weekend of October, but learned that there is a terrific cultural event that takes place during the middle of October and we will definitely plan a return trip to that B&B to check it out!

The accommodation is in a beautiful spot, which is shown off to great advantage in the middle of the fall colours. It's easy to find and well located if you are planning on driving around Cape Breton. The rooms are gorgeously decorated, with plush linens and very modern bathroom facilities. The hosts are friendly and will help you out with planning your Cape Breton activities, if you arrive without firm plans.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_Travel_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

Our five night stay at the Bryden Manor Bed & Breakfast was one of the highlights of our trip to Nova Scotia. Shirley and Bill were excellent hosts who made us very welcome and treated us like friends. We enjoyed many laughs together.

Shirley and Bill were fonts of information and their recommendations regarding places to visit and eating establishments did not disappoint. They were so keen that we should enjoy our Nova Scotia experience that one night they kindly took us to a Square Dance in Big Pond so that we could appreciate the local music.

We stayed in the Celtic Suite which was a self contained apartment comprising lounge, kitchen, dining area, bedroom with ensuite facilities and outside decking. The accommodation was top class and could not be faulted in any way. Each day we were served with a different but superb gourmet full breakfast.

We cannot recommend the Bryden Manor highly enough. Anybody looking for accommodation as a base to visit Iona, Baddeck, Glace Bay, Louisbourg and Sydney should make the Bryden Manor Bed and Breakfast their first choice. We would stay with Shirley and Bill again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
14.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
22.1 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
47.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.2 mi away
The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryden Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryden Manor B&B

Property: Bryden Manor B&B
Address: 1277 Eskasoni Rd | Northside East Bay, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1J 1E5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxurious waterfront home with central A/C in 57-acre tranquil setting on Bras d'Or Lakes; bird watcher's paradise; 20 km from Sydney; central location for day trips to all major attractions. 2 spacious elegant suites with water view & ensuite baths. Apartment style Celtic suite has living room with fireplace, fridge, microwave & walkout onto deck; Bras d'Or Suite has sitting room with mini fridge. Full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryden Manor B&B Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing