We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spanish Bay Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
$115
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindentree Bed and Breakfast(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
47
24
14
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
24
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape bretonquaint hotelcentral locationclean bathroomsydney waterfrontplace to staybreakfast roomtwo night staylindamicrowavetvshipseateryfortressfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 89 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would like to reiterate the comments made by Debbie C of Carleton Place. I was one of the five couples who visited the east and stayed at the Spanish Bay Inn. The rooms were clean and very welcoming beautifully decorated. We had a great view of the ocean and the location was perfect for walking distance to most restaurants and shops. Linda your friendliness and outgoing personality added to the warmth of the Spanish Inn, you were awesome. When visiting Sydney again I will definitly be staying there.
Thank you so much for the welcoming atmosphere.
Janet Joynt
Lombardy, Ontario

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the moment we arrrived we experienced the warmth & friendliness Easterners are renowned for at the Spanish Bay Inn. Linda, you were wonderful! I appreciated your help with travel tips and places to go. We were a group of five couples (all 50+) motorcycling Cape Breton. We spent two days at the Inn and all 10 of us were very pleased with the staff, accomodations and amenities. There was a feeling of hominess and atmosphere not realized in your run of the mill generic hotels. The lobby was a great place to meet & share stories & laughs. It featured photos of the former hotel in its early 20th.century day. Ascending the stairs all the suite doors were open welcoming us. All the Wives were charmed by the rooms decor such as 4 poster and sleigh beds, hardwood floors and tasteful lithos. They were clean & comfortable as any one could hope for after a long ride. We have stayed in all classes of hotels including 5 star Deltas and The Royal York in Toronto. Other than paying $9.00 for a beer from the mini bar at the Royal York I would say our stay at the Spanish Bay Inn was every bit an equal enjoyable experience. If one wants a full service breakfast you need to look elsewhere. We all found the continental breakfast of fruit, yogurt, breads & cereals more than sufficient. Having to make ones own coffee (which was no more than pouring the pre filled beaker through the machine & flicking the switch) was like being the first one awake at a friends home were they had prepared everthing for my early morning convenience. In reference to Jane H's comment about the parking. My Harley had a very comfortable night as well. A hardy thanks To Linda and staff. When in Sydney again, we will be back.
Allan & Debbie.
Carleton Place On.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

How this place was earlier ranked #1 is beyond me. It's more like a bed & breakfast - an old downtown house that was converted. Parking is miserable, basically an alley way around back or else park on the street. And they never mentioned all the stairs on their internet site. Up from the alley, down to the lobby, up to a landing, then way up to the 2nd floor where most of the rooms are.

The room was reasonably quiet with the a/c going all night; otherwise you'll hear street traffic. Breakfast was bare basics continental. Coffee is whatever hotel guest fixes it first. The Holiday Inn and waterfront are across the street.

When I mentioned our concerns with the stairs and their not being mentioned on the internet, the morning manager merely nodded. "Well, it's an old building." And that was it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We selected the Spanish Bay Inn because it was rated by Trip Advisor as the best place to stay in Sydney but ... we were disappointed. It's an old hotel, right on the street, the rooms are small albeit they have tried to upgrade the rooms but there is only so much you can do with an old hotel. We highly recommend the Cambridge Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here, revisiting Cape Breton after 25 years for our anniversary. I found the place on line and liked the location and look of the rooms. It was great for us, we loved the room. Saw a couple other rooms and they are all different but very nice.
We are hockey fans and were able to watch the game in the common room on big screen with comfortable leather furniture. It is a great location, you can walk to many shopping and food places. We really enjoyed the pub next door Governors. Lastly the staff here are wonderful.
Not in your face, but if you needed anything you would have it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank findog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews