We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Bay Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here, revisiting Cape Breton after 25 years for our anniversary. I found the place on line and liked the location and look of the rooms. It was great for us, we loved the room. Saw a couple other rooms and they are all different but very nice.
We are hockey fans and were able to watch the game in the common room on big screen with comfortable leather furniture. It is a great location, you can walk to many shopping and food places. We really enjoyed the pub next door Governors. Lastly the staff here are wonderful.
Not in your face, but if you needed anything you would have it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank findog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
30
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

What an incredible place! I was in town for business and did not arrive in town until 10:30 pm. Gina made sure I had everything I needed for my arrival. I was generously upgraded without even having to make a request to a large one bedroom suite. It was beautiful. The bed was perhaps more comfortable than mine at home! I was not sure if I would need to stay a second night and I was again kindly accommodated with a later check out once I knew for sure. Will come back for pleasure! This is the place to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during Christmas holidays. Beautiful old hotel. All updated! Staff were amazing. Great breakfast and fruit etc all day.
Made our stay and Christmas fantastic.
Will stay next time in Sydney.
Thank you!!!! We highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDYT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clean and comfortable, with lovely period furniture. And centrally located with a view of the harbor. Breakfast was always a treat with many fine choices, including wonderful coffee and fresh fruit.

The owner's daughter, Allison, who could easily win the miss Canada beauty pageant, is as charming as she is pretty. My wife and I had paid for a five night stay, however we had been travelling for three weeks and believed that we had to be at our next stop some four hours away on the Cabot Trail.

Imagine our surprise when the innkeeper informed us that we were not expected until the following night! We called Allison who had wondered why we had checked out! She immediately offered to credit one night on my Amex card, which saved the situation. These are honest and trustworthy hosts to say the least and we owe them a debt of gratitude.

We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were unfortunately in town for not the best set of circumstances and staying at the spanish bay in made us feel right at home. The layout was spectacular and the staff went above and beyond to make aure we felt at home. Clean,quiet and comfotable what more can you ask for?

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

this is just like staying with friends,only they don't bother you but they are there when you need them.the staff,gina,linda and allison couldn't be better,very friendly and easy going.the apartment was very comforrtable.the building was quiet.the noise came from the holiday inn across the street.this was like home.very casual.the room was comfortable,easy parking,great location steps from the harbour.you helped yourself for breakfast.you come and go.the staff comes and goes.just like a little club!join it.you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: i hesitate to say this because we want it all for ourselves.book early.this is a major find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently stayed here for the first time while in Sydney for work. I arrived late one night and was met by one of the staff for my late check in, which was much appreciated. I had a great room, and it was nice to have a kitchen area for a 3 night stay as the restaurant choice in Sydney is fairly limited. The room was very clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was great and fully stocked with everything. Parking was convenient at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was serve yourself, and I found there to be a good selection that would probably satisfy anyone.
My only complaint was that it could be a bit noisy with people outside in the evening, but nothing that the hotel can do about that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
5.7 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Bay Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Bay Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Bay Inn and Suites
Address: 10 Pitt St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 5X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Bay Inn and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish Bay Inn and Suites, offers quality comfortable accommodations for nightly and long term stays. Our Inn is centrally located along the picturesque waterfront in Downtown Sydney and features stylish rooms with tasteful decor. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our tranquil setting. The discerning traveler will appreciate the period style furnishings in this Historic Hotel that has been renovated to offer all of the modern amenities while maintaining the "feel" of an elegant era. Every room features a luxurious queen sized bed, private bathroom with kitchenette, TV/DVD/Stereo, free highspeed wireless internet, sitting area, ironing board/iron, coffeemaker, phone with voicemail. Our rooms vary in size from one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens to rooms featuring an all in one sleeping and sitting area with a workstation. We welcome you to the Sydney area and hope you enjoy your stay at our lovely Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spanish Bay Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Bay Inn And Suites Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing