We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled my kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoiled my kids”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

They sent my kids treats up to the room to celebrated their birthdays. An extra deed they did not have to do. The staff also talked with them as they went to and from the pool. These little things made us feel welcomed and important to the staff. Good Job Hampton

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Andrea H.
We appreciate you taking the time to do this wonderful review. Spoiling your twins on their birthday is all part of what we do here at the Hampton Inn Sydney! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you come back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    172
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
382
279
14
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was great. They allowed the parents/other guests to socialize in the evening near the lobby which allowed the other guests and children to get a good night sleep, keeping all the noise to the first floor (where there is no guest rooms). Hopefully all Hamptons will permit this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Jennifer F,
Thank you for taking the time to do this great review. We are pleased to offer our guests the opportunity to relax in our beautiful Great Room whether socializing amongst each other or watching either one of the big screen tvs we have available. Whenever you are back in Sydney again we would love to host your next stay and thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Absolute best place to stay in Sydney Nova Scotia. They will go that extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. Quite, comfortable, and clean for the business traveler. And family friendly with an awesome water slide!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Matt S,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We strive to provide the best hospitlaity with our hand picked staff and the cleanliness level that our housekeeping staff maintain at our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaree Harbor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Excellent place to stay when in Cape Breton. Friendly and "we want to please" attitude. Staff is very well trained and friendly. Breakfast area is well appointed and seating is comfortable. The community of Membertou is clean and has a pedway to their Trade and Convention Center plus a Restaurant which serves the general public. No need to step outside!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Yvon L,
We appreciate you taking the time to complete the review and for your kind words. We love that fact that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we constantly strive to provide the best hospitality and the most prisitne rooms possible.We also totally agree that the pedway ileading to the Membertou Trade and Convention Center and Kijus is a great asset to the hotel especially with our Cape Breton climate where you can almost have four seasons in one day! Whenever you are in the area again we would love to host your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ryan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great staff and beautiful Inn. great location. Quiet surroundings but close to city. All amenities you would expect from a more expensive Hotel. Located in the nice community of Membertou.You can experience the everyday life of this First Nations Community.Very friendly people. The community boasts a world class Trade and convention centre attached to the Inn by a heated catwalk. Nearby is a Casino . The Convention Centre has a beautiful restaurant and hosts live entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, Blair B. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, facilities, and hotel environment as much as we do! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently I was part of a group consisting of family and friends of a team entered in the 33rd Annual Coal Bowl at New Waterford, Cape Breton. Since all competing high school teams were billeted in the school itself, many of us ( family and friends) stayed at this hotel.

I cannot say enough good about our stay. The manager, Glen Morrison, and all his staff went out of their way to insure our stay was second to none. From the moment we arrived until we departed a week later, the hospitality shown to us was nothing but excellent.

Everyone from the front desk, cleaning staff, kitchen workers,and even the elevator repair man, were friendly and made us feel very welcome and happy we were there. The food at breakfast was delicious, hot and plentiful.

A special treat greeted us all one morning. After a heavy snowfall the night before, we awoke to find every vehicle in the parking lot completely cleaned of snow. Now that is special!!!!

I would highly recommend anyone travelling in the Sydney area to stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maf_12185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
maf_12185, we really appreciate your warm comments about our property. We strive to go above and beyond with our guest services and the way we treat our guests. Our maintenance team works very diligently with cleaning off cars during snowstorms. Thank you so much for your time to write this wonderful review, your loyalty to our property, and your business. We look very forward to seeing you next Coal Bowl season!

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

After staying in north sydney they night before I was so happy to have booked into this hotel. Its a fine hotel, I was quite pleased everything, location, amenities, staff, room size and quality.

The hotel is about a year old and was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing