We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MODEL HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This facility could give lessons on how to run a welcoming and service-oriented hotel. In a word, it is generous of spirit and product, offering so many little touches:3 daily newspapers,a variety of fruit and coffee 24/7, cookies and a cauldron of soup in the lobby.The morning breakfast buffet offers a full range of hot an cold foods and is open until 10:00 a.m. (other hotels: please take note!) Breakfast grab bags are available for the very early birds. The decor is quietly elegant as are the rooms. And the staff are oh so incredibly attentive and helpful in many ways. This is a newly-built hotel with comfortable beds, sizeable bathrooms and the rooms with a kitchenette are the same price as those without. The relationship of product to cost is most favourable to the customer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenthtry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thanks for an amazing night away from home! We had the perfect getaway. I couldnt get my boyfriend off of the water slide, the pool area was so clean and inviting. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the best service at a Hotel that I have had. Keep up the great work and keep smiling staff :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed in alot of hotel but i have to stay this was the nicest and cleanest . The workers were all very friendly and very helpful. i enjoyed staying there so much we stayed a extra day. we also called our friends to come over . we all enjoyed ourself and will be coming back,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephaniecousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was impressed with the comfortable room - king size bed with a sitting area, fridge & microwave. It was clean, quiet, strong wireless connection, friendly staff and deliciously comfortable bed. Had some problems navigating to it, but that was a gps issue!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I do not enjoy hotels but this hotel is absolutely outstanding. We stayed there for 2 nights in July and used it as our home base as we toured the lower section of Cape Breton. The desk staff, breakfast staff, cleaning & maintenance staff all have that wonderful Maritime warmth & friendliness. It's a great bang for your buck because the complimentary amazing breakfast is soooo filling you don't need to buy lunch. It's the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. Anyone who's ever traveled with little kids knows it can be challenging sometimes, but this hotel made everything so easy and enjoyable. Safe & fun waterslide, great pool, microwave & fridge in the room, breakfast to drool over, CLEAN and the list goes on and on. It's in a nice secluded area, no street noise to disturb you. It's got a high-end look & feel but there's no "hoity-toityness", we felt so welcomed & we can't wait to return again and again. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatchathink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you a lot, Watchathink! We appreciate your wonderful review and your time. It's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed yourself while you were here. We understand that you may not always look forward to being away from home, but that is why we strive to go above and beyond to make every guest feel like our property is their home away from home. We look very forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Honest we went to Sydney on not so great circumstances as there was a death in our family BUT Our stay at Hampton Inn Sydney was fantastic!! It Started off by being greeted with the warmest smiles and very Helpful staff !! Our children were each welcomed individually and given a treat and we where also given nice cold bottles of water!! Even our puppy was given a treat!! The front desk staff offered a larger room to us at no extra charge since they had the space available which was very kind... the room was beautiful, bright, clean and with everything you needed ... microwave, fridge sink...even paper towel... very handy to have so we could eat in after being on a long road trip!! The kiddos loved the waterslide and pool!! The hot breakfast was fantastic!! I have nothing bad to say... we even had to stay an extra night due to weather and the kids were each given a lovely treat bag ( it was valentines day) They were so excited!!!
ALL in ALL Staff was fantastic, hotel was beautiful..it made for a stress free stay!!!!! Definitely will stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Sydney for a week from Feb. 2-9. I was immediately impressed with the cleanliness observed in the lobby, elevators, hallways, and rooms. The rooms are large and spacious with very comfortable beds. The bathroom is also huge and very well appointed. The staff here are extraordinary. Everyday, they were handing out water bottles - as many as we wanted. There was also a snowstorm one night during our stay and when we got up to leave the next morning, all of our vehicles were cleaned off!! Talk about Cape Breton hospitality!! That was an incredible touch!

The complimentary hot breakfasts were stocked with many choices and always a newspaper to read with breakfast. I could go on and on, but suffice it say that this hotel exceeded expectations and I will certainly be back in the future. I used to stay at Cambridge Suites when in Sydney, but not any longer - Hampton Inn is much better!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
677 reviews
17.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $109 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing