We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest budget hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nicest budget hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Seemingly brand new with really nice finishes--granite countertops in the room! Very nice little kitchenette with a sink, microwave, and fridge. Only downside is that the location is a little away from downtown--maybe a 30 minute walk.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zamorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    160
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
349
254
13
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with large rooms. Kitchenette with counter, fridge, microwave included. Very clean. Easy access to the highway. Pool with water slide. Huge buffet breakfast had lots of options, but was average on taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent hotel! We were going to Loisbourg and because of rain we finished early and were contemplating driving on and skipping Sydney entirely. So glad we decided to stay. This is by far the nicest hotel (in terms of accomodations) we have stayed at during our tour of PEI, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Great job Danny #2 and the Hampton Inn Sydney team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPAMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a newer hotel. The room was comfortable, very clean with a good size refrigerator and microwave. We were traveling with a dog and the nature trail across the parking lot was a great place to get in an early morning walk. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was nice with the added bonus of a slide, that was more popular with the younger kids but not such a hit with my teens. The breakfast was hot and delicious with ample comfortable seating. The location is somewhat out of the way. The town itself does not have much to offer. It is about 30 minutes from the Louisbourg Fortress which was a good day trip. It is about 40 minutes from one entrances to the Cabot Trail which is a bit far if you plan to visit the Trail over multiple days. If your main focus is the Cabot Trail you need to pick closer accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The furnishings and decor were beautiful throughout the entire hotel. We found front desk very helpful and professional. They always seemed happy to help as well. It was a nice bonus to have coffee and cookies in the lobby. The breakfast was awesome! Our daughter-in-law eats gluten and dairy free and the staff was very helpful in providing special food for her. I did find the constant "dinging" of the elevators at every floor kind of annoying, but I suppose there is a purpose for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Whenever I visit the Sydney-area, I always stay at the Hampton Inn in Membertou. The hotel is new and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and rooms are comfortable and inviting. The breakfast area is wonderfully appointed, including the huge timber table running through the center of the room. Overall, pleased with the hotel and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had an excellent stay here. It is well worth the money. We were able to get a government rate. The hotel is brand new. Beds are very comfortable. Hot breakfast in the morning was very good. If we come to sydney again we will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing