We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new Hampton with high standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great new Hampton with high standards”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Overall great experience as a diamond member, warm welcome , welcome gifts ( candy and water) very clean hotel. Always a joy to stay in DP Murphy's hotels. Excellent hot free breakfast. Only downside is that is not walking distance to downtown but has lots of room for development around it , possibly for future shopping expansion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    169
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
369
272
14
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights while visiting family. This hotel is a wonderful addition for the town of Sydney.
Rooms are very spacious, well layed out, and extremely clean. Daily room service was very well done. The only amenity I missed was an in-room electonic safe. Free daily newspapers are available, including local and regional papers and the Globe and Mail. Interestingly, the Globe was also there on a Saturday morning, a first for me at any Canadian hotel I have used.
Room prices in Sydney are slightly high and the Hampton is no exception. Look for deals.
Great looking pool with slide, well used by the families staying there. A small fitness centre is also available to guests.
The breakfast had everything one might want: eggs with bacon or ham, oatmeal and cold cereals, a waffle maker, fruit, a variety of pastries, fresh hot english muffins, and great coffee.
Parking is spacious and free, unlike the downtown hotels.
It is refreshing to see the Esplanade hotels get some serious competition. They would do well to emulate this new Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Sydney was very clean and very nice. The beds were comfortable and the room had a fridge, microwave,and separate sink area which was a nice surprise when travelling with children.

The room rate includes hot/cold self serve breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, fresh waffles, and assorted breads and baked goods.

Small issues included slow ventilation in the bathroom, and a slower draining tub when I had a shower.

Service was friendly and polite. There was a pool but we did not use it.

We will definitely return on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be more than happy to host your next stay!

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here a few times when returning to University before I moved into the dorm rooms. It was always super clean, the Guest Service Agents were always friendly and the room service was good! Its close to downtown Sydney which was great and there were some beautiful rooms that over looked the water! The pool was great with their waterslide and their fitness room was good too but I was most impressed by how incredibly comfy the beds were!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor!!! Gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwhiting_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 1 night here and had an excellent stay. Everything was new and clean. Our room was very large, surprisingly so, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was very good with many choices. There is an elevated walkway to the convention center, so we walked over just to explore. The pool has a nice slide that I am sure our daughter would have enjoyed. The always available hot chocolate, tea, and coffee were appreciated. Definitely a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I would like to comment on the great service I received from a gentleman by the name of Glenn at the Hampton Inn in Sydney...Your stay is much more enjoyable when you have a person who truly loves their job..I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful hotel and receive friendly service...Good Job Hampton

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hampton Inn Sydney staff are extremely friendly, the hotel is very clean and appealing. Great for Business or personal travellers. Love free internet access and very nice pool and fitness centre. The complimentary breakfast is always a plus especially when travelling with family and the breakfast at this location was excellent. Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing