We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean, quiet, absolutely the best staff possible. Did I say friendly? And a very good breakfast; varies each day; always a hot egg item, a meat item (often sausages), occasional baked beans, on top of the usual waffles and so on.

Not easy to find; GPS is not necessarily reliable.

Would recommend to anyone and would be my first choice for a hotel near but not on the Cabot Trail (which you can do in a day if you leave early enough).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btfsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    160
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
349
254
13
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at Cape Breton University. The hotel is new, clean, with comfortable beds, and large, nicely decorated rooms. My only gripes: while the free breakfast is appreciated, it is offputting at a hotel that has posters everywhere promoting environmental responsibility, that all the plates, cups etc. are disposable. Similarly, cups in the rooms are disposable. That is probably the Hampton norm, but it would be much more environmentally friendly and pleasant to eat and drink using real dishes. I hope the management will consider this. Second, the location is poor. If you didn't have a car you would be hard pressed to get anywhere or find a place to eat. There is nothing around except the restaurant attached to the hotel and a smokey bingo hall. Other than that it's a nice hotel and I loved the room. Great to have a microwave and fridge.

Room Tip: Room tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the water. Otherwise you face the parking lot. You do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamsMom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Brand new within the last year. Spacious rooms, very confortable. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. We had reservations at a 3.5 star hotel in the same city but walked out of that hotel because the rooms were in dis-repair and the outside grounds were unkept. I stepped up to Hampton for $10 more. Hampton shoud be a 6 star. The other hotel should be a no star!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BillyBoy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Sackville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with great staff lot's of FREE parking. Very clean great amenities and coffee and cookies in the entry always the staff was very freindly and helpful and although there was a large convention the room was so quiet we heard nothing all night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you don't mind not being on the river, this property is located just minutes outside “downtown Sydney”. It is Located on an Indian Reservation next to the Membertou Convention Center and is a very modern hotel. Like many Hampton Inns, our room was very comfortable, quiet, and spacious. Many have views of parking lots and the convention center. The beds are super comfortable and the buffet breakfast (included) is excellent. Parking was also included. Very good value compared to comparable hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

i appreciate the manner in which the staff honor people like me. while it is not home its the next best thing. on a more personal note, its great to be in a space where first nations folks get to over see the operations of this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This Hotel is new, decor well done, customer service oriented, rooms extra large, clean & beautifully decorated. Ours was a King room, walk-in shower, very large flat screen TV - everything available for whatever your needs. Front desk staff were superior, even printed off a menu of a restaurant we were interested in going to & asked how it was upon our returnso they could tell others. Quiet! Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had (OJ cold/fresh) & bonus to be included in the price. Would we return.......in a heartbeat. We left there & headed to Glace Bay (30 min drive) to take the underground Coal Miner's Tour - everyone should do this - the ex miner told us heartbreaking & funny stories. Fabulous. Then we were off to Baddeck. A fabulous fun 3 day weekend. Wished we had gone back for our 2nd night back to the Hampton Inn from Baddeck - the room their was NO comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank marosehalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing