We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean clean clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
NL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean clean clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here in May 2014. Upon entering the building- the colors burst out at me.... orange...yellow... blues.... Friendly and eager to help staff . dining room over looking the water and a boardwalk below for the walking type. Food great, free internet.... bar and pub grub available there as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybarcelloladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear crazybarcelloladies,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are also very proud and excited about our recent renovations and new color schemes at the Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront hotel.
The dining room overlooking the Harbour and Boardwalk is indeed spectacular and has a magnificent view from our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    143
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
90
104
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly enough. Bell boys don't exist so expect to carry your bags. Great wifi but $1 a call for local calls! Also $13 for a continental breakfast that everyone else gives you free. Variety of snacks available but at silly prices. Room service ends at 10:30pm. So if you come in on west jets red eye forget food. Rooms are decent and clean. Ours still smells of cigarettes some from the delta days despite being a No smoking room. No real easy path out to the boardwalk from this property with its beautiful location. In room fridge is nice but where are the microwaves? The Delta failed to take full advantage of this property and Holiday Inn seems to be following in their footsteps.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank judyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear judyzzz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our hotel staff and WiFi connection.

It is regrettable that some of our room amenities and services fell below your standards. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenient our valued guests with our prices but to provide options that are competitive and sensible. Nonetheless, your feedback has been taken into serious account for this is one of our best sources to determine both our good aspects and our areas of improvement.

I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were heading to CB for a non- scheduled vacation. We stayed a the Holiday Inn on our first night and were extremely pleased with the service from the get go. We checked out the next morning , then came back two nights later (thanks to Kelli for the early check in). Checked out again, because we had tentative plans, that fell through, then arrived back that night. We were then back two nights later and stayed for the duration of our vacation. We were in four different rooms and all were great. We were on the fourth to the eight floor. (My only issue was hearing the elevators running in the AM-so no more rooms near the elevators.) The staff was awesome. We had breakfast daily and it was always fabulous (Carol is great). Also experienced the pub and really enjoyed our time with Michael and Sheila. Thank you so much and can't wait to revisit in the autumn.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Holly M,

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (not to mention getting to check out a few different rooms). It's wonderful you got to experience our terrific outlets as well. I will let Kelly, Carol, Michael, Sheila and the rest of the team here at the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront know about your great stay. We look forward to seeing you again this autumn!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We really lucked into this property. From the first friendly greeting from Kim at the front desk, to the exceptionally clean hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely king harbourfront room, comfortably appointed, with a great view of the harbour. What made our stay here exceptional was our experience with Michael, the bartender. He is simply the best, always friendly, and happy to share his knowledge of the area and advise us on the important "don't miss places". Over two evenings we felt we had made a new friend. Another great person of note is Janice, who solved our dilemma in trying to find a room at our next destination, she took our problem in hand and quickly solved it for us. The reason for giving this property a 5* is service service service. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lorraine P,

Thank you for reviewing us! It's so wonderful to hear that you had an all around great stay with us. We are very grateful to have such amazing staff such as Michael, Kim and Janice and that we could be a special part of your trip to Sydney. Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback, especially about the customer service you received. We always strive for the best, especially with our hospitality and I will certainly love sharing your comments with everyone. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went visiting relatives over the Easter weekend and we were treated very well. Right from the time we arrived to the morning we left. The Staff were welcoming and accommodating. Our dog made the trip with us and he was welcomed at the hotel just like we were. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The view from our hotel room was second to none compared to hotels on the waterfronts in other major Canadian cities. We slept like babies...lol Again we really enjoyed the Staff, they could not do enough for us and were always smiling and seemed to be a happy bunch. We had the pleasure of meeting the manager that was on duty for that weekend and he also was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Marc E,

Thank you for your review and all of your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us while visiting in Sydney. I'm so happy that you and you family felt welcome and had good night's sleep, both of which, are top priorities when it come to our guest's experience. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, I will enjoy sharing them with all of the staff! We hope to see you and your family again soon and be sure to bring along your K-9 friend as well (we love dogs!)!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

You'll like it but beware teams. Loved my stay and by far the best Holiday Inn I've ever seen. Too bad Holiday Inn can't get better consistency across the brand at different properties but, on that front, things are improving. This property has cool chic furnishings and two onsite restaurants. Be sure to ask to be far from teams. Also, the hotel looks like it had a lot of traffic and there are plenty of tell tale signs: wall scuffs and debrid on carpets. Elevators have trouble coping with low vacancy. But the positives outweigh the negatives--barely--and I rate it very good right now.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sirtravelalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear sirtravelalot1,

Thank you for reviewing us. Glad to hear that you like our renovations and our new look. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the old Delta Hotel, renovated and rebranded. It's an OK hotel, nothing special. With the a Holiday Inn brand you know everything will be clean and functional, and this is exactly what this place is. There is a restaurant, but I can't comment on it as I didn't use it. The pub is pretty good, friendly staff and decent 'pub grub' food. The hotel is on the waterfront, so if you get a water facing room you do get a good view.

A 'solid' hotel that does nothing badly but is not exceptional

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Mark H,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful water view from your room. The pub staff is great and always welcoming and I will certainly pass on your review with all the staff. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
27.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing