We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
361 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room was clean, the staff is friendly and the hotel has a good location on the waterfront.

Unfortunately, there were no cups with our coffee maker. I call the desk and they send up some cups fast. But then I notice there is only one decaf coffee pouch and two tea bags. I open the top of the coffee maker and see an old tea bag still in place. Not nice. Very disappointing. I thought the Holiday Inn was trying to change it's dated image.

I'm also annoyed that I have to pay for breakfast. Breakfast for two of us cost $40 and if I add that to the price of the room it's not such a good deal. Also, some (all?) Holiday Inn Express Hotels offer free breakfasts. Why don't they all?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kanadai,

First I want to say thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Second, we are extremely disappointed we did not WOW you on your recent stay. We strive to provide our guests with a positive experience and we apologize you had issues related to your room. Our Executive Housekeeper is looking into the coffee concerns you had mentioned.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with our friendly staff and waterfront location. I hope to welcome you back the next time your travels take you to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    145
    57
    24
    13
See reviews for
92
104
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean, well appointed rooms with a very comfortable bed. Located right on the waterfront and within walking distance of the pier, downtown Sydney and the Oceanfront Esplanade. A good location if you are interested in the Miner's Museum or Fort Louisbourg. Many eating options within and near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisinSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CruisinSaskatoon,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the central waterfront location for your Cape Breton vacation. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently held my wedding reception here and a few night's accommodations for myself and guests of our wedding here at the Holiday Inn Sydney and cannot thank and praise the wonderful staff enough! All of the staff went above and beyond to help any request we had! The wonderful management team, front desk, banquet/restaurant and housekeeping staff all gave us exceptional service, Thank you so much! The guest rooms were clean and fresh and a great size, and we loved the beautiful view overlooking the Sydney Harbour! The renovations in the lobby and restaurant look wonderful, very bright and refreshing! Breakfast in the restaurant was wonderful, great food and served quickly! And every detail of our wedding reception was perfect! The food was cooked just as we wanted, and every request we had for the banquet staff throughout the evening was met with a smile and taken care of immediately! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Sydney area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Cheryl647,

Thank you for your review. We are honoured to be able to be a part of your wedding celebrations. It's so wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to fulfil all of your needs during your special day (especially since we have our beautiful new renovations). I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the staff here at the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My most recent trip to Cape Breton with my family occurred under rather unfortunate circumstances, but the Holiday Inn gave us a nice place to relax in the evening and sleep at night. The room are pretty large, and the beds comfortable. The pub downstairs has amazing food and excellent service (for example, I ordered a lemonade, which they do not have, but the waitress offered to make me one, and it was delicious). We ordered wings for room service one night and they were great, too. However, I advise against the dining room downstairs, at least for breakfast which is all we ate there. Service was extremely slow (waited 20 minutes for toast, just toast), and the food is sub par (pancakes and waffles from a mix, which were cold by the time they arrived at the table). Other than that, though, a nice place to stay with a good view.

Room Tip: Higher floor better . . . we were on the second floor, and the live entertainment from the pub was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear MegK13,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. We are extremely happy to hear you got to enjoy some delicious food and a little bit of our good old Cape Breton hospitality (and also home made lemonade). We hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nothing super special but recently updated, service was good, good location, clean rooms, and the rate I had was very good value.
The food wasn't great but wasn't bad. The servers in both the restaurant at breakfast and in the pub at night seemed nearly overwhelmed and completely swamped... and it really wasn't busy. Food was definitely (seriously) over-priced, but I guess they have a relatively captive audience and are exploiting it to the max.
Might eat there again; might not, but i'd certainly return to the hotel for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear EatnStay,

Thank you for your review. It's great hearing you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our renovations and thank you for your feedback, I will pass on your comments to the food and beverage manager. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A newly renovated hotel in downtown Sydney on the waterfront that is close to many great attractions and restaurants. Hotel is nice and very similar to other new Holiday Inns. The in hotel restaurant has an excellent panoramic view of Sydney Harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Travelers221,

Thank you for reviewing us. I'm glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. Our SeaSpray restaurant has the best dining view in Sydney and you cannot beat our downtown location, it's nice to hear you were able to experience it.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our overnight stay at the Holiday Inn in Sydney. It is located within easy walking distance of downtown pubs and restaurants, and there is also a nice boardwalk right along the Sydney Harbour waterfront.

We especially enjoyed the pool with the water slide. No one else was there, so we could be "big kids" and have fun. The room, itself, was also quite nice, the beds nice and firm for a good night's sleep. The hotel restaurant offers a good selection; though we only ate breakfast there, opting for dinner out at the nearby Governors Pub & Eatery.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the water, as we did, it offers a beautiful view of Sydney Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear messengrl,

Thank you for reviewing us. It's so nice to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your night with us! I'm glad you were able to be 'big kids' again on our 55 ft water slide and then relax in our comfortable guest room. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
27.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing