We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My most recent trip to Cape Breton with my family occurred under rather unfortunate circumstances, but the Holiday Inn gave us a nice place to relax in the evening and sleep at night. The room are pretty large, and the beds comfortable. The pub downstairs has amazing food and excellent service (for example, I ordered a lemonade, which they do not have, but the waitress offered to make me one, and it was delicious). We ordered wings for room service one night and they were great, too. However, I advise against the dining room downstairs, at least for breakfast which is all we ate there. Service was extremely slow (waited 20 minutes for toast, just toast), and the food is sub par (pancakes and waffles from a mix, which were cold by the time they arrived at the table). Other than that, though, a nice place to stay with a good view.

Room Tip: Higher floor better . . . we were on the second floor, and the live entertainment from the pub was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear MegK13,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. We are extremely happy to hear you got to enjoy some delicious food and a little bit of our good old Cape Breton hospitality (and also home made lemonade). We hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nothing super special but recently updated, service was good, good location, clean rooms, and the rate I had was very good value.
The food wasn't great but wasn't bad. The servers in both the restaurant at breakfast and in the pub at night seemed nearly overwhelmed and completely swamped... and it really wasn't busy. Food was definitely (seriously) over-priced, but I guess they have a relatively captive audience and are exploiting it to the max.
Might eat there again; might not, but i'd certainly return to the hotel for a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear EatnStay,

Thank you for your review. It's great hearing you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our renovations and thank you for your feedback, I will pass on your comments to the food and beverage manager. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A newly renovated hotel in downtown Sydney on the waterfront that is close to many great attractions and restaurants. Hotel is nice and very similar to other new Holiday Inns. The in hotel restaurant has an excellent panoramic view of Sydney Harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Travelers221,

Thank you for reviewing us. I'm glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. Our SeaSpray restaurant has the best dining view in Sydney and you cannot beat our downtown location, it's nice to hear you were able to experience it.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our overnight stay at the Holiday Inn in Sydney. It is located within easy walking distance of downtown pubs and restaurants, and there is also a nice boardwalk right along the Sydney Harbour waterfront.

We especially enjoyed the pool with the water slide. No one else was there, so we could be "big kids" and have fun. The room, itself, was also quite nice, the beds nice and firm for a good night's sleep. The hotel restaurant offers a good selection; though we only ate breakfast there, opting for dinner out at the nearby Governors Pub & Eatery.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the water, as we did, it offers a beautiful view of Sydney Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear messengrl,

Thank you for reviewing us. It's so nice to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your night with us! I'm glad you were able to be 'big kids' again on our 55 ft water slide and then relax in our comfortable guest room. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and service was quite good. Restaurant service was very friendly though food was iffy (pre-packaged Mac and cheese for kids???).
Unfortunately there was a wedding and a youth soccer team staying there which made it a bit loud at night.
Again, hotel itself was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear sfryyz,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our service and hotel, I will pass on your comments to the food and beverage manager. We hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Strayed for two nights prior to our trip to Newfoundland. Even during Action Week we received an excellent government rate that included two full breakfasts, chosen from the menu, not a buffet. The meals were huge and delicious. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Our room was excellent, well appointed, and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows. There are three parking lots, so there was always space available even during Action Week when the general public makes use of every free space to attend events on the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: All rooms have a water view but the ones facing the harbour entrance are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Gloria J,

Thank you for reviewing us. It's fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us. We have many great rates and packages for business travel and leisure and are very proud of our clean and comfortable rooms. The choice of pillows is also a neat touch we love! We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed for 5 days. Great view of harbour. Clean spacious rooms. Friendly Staff. Free Parking. Free Wifi. The pillow-top mattress was about as comfortable as my own bed at home. I loved the pub downstairs, always won on the slots there and the bartender Sheila felt like an old friend. These are the reasons I'd stay again. The only reason I don't give a 5 rating, is that when there was an event at the harbour, people used the parking spaces at the hotel that were meant for "customers only" and I felt they should have someone enforce the rule because one night I had no place to park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Empty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Empty R,

Thank you for reviewing us. So glad we could make your 5 day stay with us comfortable and entertaining. Sheila certainly is great and we are lucky to have such amazing employees. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.7 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $122 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing