We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Meh"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our room was adequate, a few marks on the walls, but overall not bad. The view wasn't good - unfortunately they didn't have any available rooms other than the one overlooking the gravel roof. The restaurant we ate at (sat in the bistro for the view of the harbour but we were allowed to order from the pub menu) was fine. The service was pleasant and the food was okay. For the price, I would say this is not the best deal in town, but our experience wasn't horrible or anything. Just wished there was either a continental breakfast or perhaps a free coffee in the lounge or something to just make it seem like better value. I'm not adverse for paying a higher price for a room, but there has to be value for money, and I'm not sure that there is that here. The parking, I should add is pretty poor.

Room Tip: - arrive earlier if possible so you can find parking. - also, ask for a harbour view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurafromKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear LaurafromKitchener,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 400 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall our stay was a very nice except for a couple of small issues. This first impression is an important one for any business and the greeting we had received by Joan before even walking through the door was not pleasant by any means. She was absolutely rude. She came flying out the door yelling at us not to park in front without listening to us trying to tell her we were trying to check in. We had no problem extending our stay front desk staff were very accommodating. We were there during a festival so there was going to be fireworks. We were told extra security was there for the parking lot but still we looked out our window to see locals leaning on our car. The rooms were very nice and a nice view of the harbor. Upon check out the rate i reserved at was not the same rate they charged us but there was no problem getting that adjusted to the reservation rate when i booked. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel came as part of a package. It is in a great location - it was recently refurbished and presents well. Unfortunately service was dreadful and food quality very poor. After a long and enjoyable day driving around the 'Highlands' we decided to eat in for dinner. Dining room looked excellent. We were 'served' by a supercilious young man - they did not have items on the limited 'appetizer' menu and similarly had run out of certain wines. When the food eventually arrived it was a revelation - very few small pieces of seafood in the chowder and other items cold - the mains were even worse. Vegetable cold and meat over cooked and dry. Chicken stir fry came stone cold and without the cashew nuts as ordered - it was taken away, a few nuts stired in and ten returned still stone cold. At this point the Duty Manager was called - she apologies and we left the restaurant without eating. Breakfast the next morning was a similar affair - so do not bother.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegalBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear LegalBaz,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the level of staff service and food selections that was served had caused you. I appreciate you bringing this concern to our attention. Rest assured, I will follow up with the appropriate department to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your future travels.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was lovely, with a fantastic view of the harbour. Didn't try the restaurant, but it looked nice. There is shopping within walking distance, and a boardwalk accessible from the hotel property, which was great for walking along the harbour. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear jubejube,

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was located in the perfect location during my travels through the area. The front desk staff was excellent at check in and check out. The room was clean and well appointed with a great view of the waterfront and the big violin. I had a few complaints, however. Someone across the hall from me had a do that barked incessantly after 10pm right as I had fallen asleep after a long day on the road. After calling the front desk I felt that the response time to the room was too slow. The dog barked for between five and ten minutes non stop. If I had my way, no pets would be allowed in hotels but I understand that some people I have to travel with them for many reasons. If that's the case, manage your dogs, kids, whatever the issue is, so that other guests can get the rest they are paying for. One other issue, the restaurant/pub off the lobby was terrible. The food was not good and the service was atrocious. There was some crazy dude server who was basically shouting at the top of his lungs about the poor management of the place and how he had to do all the work. It took away from the experience because he wouldn't shut up and I couldn't carry on a business conversation with my associate. At that point it was too late for us to leave but we should have. So done needs to take a hard look at the restaurant management, the service and food quality. Don't bother eating in this place. Because of these identified issues, I rated the hotel lower in certain areas such as service and sleep quality.

Room Tip: Face the water and the violin for a good view and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear ImATravelinFool,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear check in went smoothly and you were pleased with your room and the view. I'd like to apologize for the disturbance of the dog and the unsatisfactory experience in the pub, it is very important to us that our guest's have a good night's sleep and receive the best service possible. I will pass your comments on to the Front Office and food and beverage managers. We are always looking for ways to improve on our guests stay. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We planned to stay at the Holiday Inn because of their rating and reputation. Our stay no where near met those expectations. The room had a water leak in the shower, the floor was flooded after our showers in the morning. You could tell it had been that way for some time as the wallpaper had peeled away from the wall and some tiles were broken. The restaurant was poorly manned, we went for dinner that evening, after a wait to be seated no servers/waiters were in the restaurant? We seated ourselves after a few minutes, (another couple did the same) the table dishes were not clean although it was a new set up table. waited a few more minutes and still no one showed up, so we left. There are other choices in Sydney, we'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank top-flyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear top-flyte,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This HI has been completely renovated and the rooms are fresh and comfortable. We had no complaints, the pool and gym are good, room service is efficient, location great for a stroll downtown or around the board walk. Cuisine is basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Ruperto,

Thank you for your review. We are loving our new look and we're glad you like it too!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.7 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $118 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing